Priceless Hillbilly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Really delicous. I made two pies at once and there was enough of the syrup filling for 3, in deep dish pie shells. If I do this again, I will make extra cream cheese mixture and get a 3rd crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This got mixed reviews in my house. I really enjoyed it, and though it had a very rich, creamy, buttery taste. It was a great combo of cheesecake and carmel. I was suprised to find that the top didn't become crunchy, though. It was a very chewy top layer. I still enjoyed it. My boyfriend, however, gave it a rating of "eh." He thought it tasted fine, but was not interesting enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I really loved this - I didn't know what to expect with the cream cheese in it but it was just great all together - very sweet, but pecan pie is also. Now and then a sweet treat is needed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Satisfies a sweet tooth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darkpixie401

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was a really decadent, and very rich dessert. The name alone conjures up an image that might not be enticing to some. Don't let that scare you away. This was very, very good. This combines two of my favorite things, cheesecake and pecan pie minus the pecans......what's not to love? I happened to have a deep dish pie crust in my freezer so that's what I used instead of homemade. The brown sugar layer was too much and would have over flowed the pie so, I did pour some into a small custard cup and bake that off separately. A very pleasant surprise and something I most likely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This pie was really good!! I loved the chewiness of the oatmeal. I accidentally added 1 cup of 1/2 splenda and 1/2 regular sugar,instead of the 1/3 cup. I backed off of the brown sugar( I used splenda brown sugar) a little and it was just fine.It was diffidently a much cheaper pie and tasted fabulous just the same!! Thanks Arjherell. I will make this one again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was SO good, and easier to make than I thought. I didn't have a crust, or ingredients to make pie crust, so I used Graham Cracker Crumbs to make a crust. I also had less corn syrup and brown sugar than I thought, so I halved the recipe after reading the review about having too much. It was terrific, and the amount of filling was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I liked the sound of this recipe and made some changes to it after reading some of the reviews. I only had quick oats not rolled so instead of the amount called for I used 1/4 cup of quick oats. It didn't come out chewy like others has mentioned. Also, there was too much filling for my 9 inch pre-made pie crust. I ended up with about 1 cup left over. It seemed like a waste to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ovid, Colorado, USA
Living In: Proctor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I was testing pies for an upcoming church contest and this is great! I had to substitute quick oats for the rolled and it was a little chewy, but still fantastic. Plan to make again with the rolled oats. Reminds me a a combination of cheesecake and pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States