Pretzel Turtles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was a winning recipe in better homes and gardens a few yrs back. It is the best party snack, when you want just a little something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
These have got to be the simplest treat ever to make and yet are SO VERY ADDICTIVE! Make sure that you make at least two batches... one to enjoy right away and another so that you'll have more for tomorrow or for that special event that they were originally intended for! I used the square grid-shaped pretzels with Rolos on top and to save time, I topped them with the pecan halves before placing them in the oven so that the pecans could toast slightly as the Rolos soften. After about 5 minutes in the oven, I just pressed down on each pecan which caused the Rolos to spread out perfectly over the square pretzel. They looked absolutely beautiful and presentable plus you can turn out hundreds of these quite fast. They just take a while to fully cool and set up but this can be remedied too by putting them in the refrigerator on an empty shelf to cool completely before storing them in plastic zip-top bags. These even taste great without the added nuts on top for those (especially kids) that don't quite appreciate nuts. Just flatten the heated Rolos with the back of a slightly oiled spoon to look like little kisses sitting on top. This will definitely be a staple for the holidays. Thank you for sharing this delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
615 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I make about 15-20 different Xmas cookies every year. This year, these cookies were the hit of them all. I used one bag of rollo candies and could have made another bag's worth easily. Everybody loved these. This will be one of the "regulars" of the cookie season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I have been making these for years now and they are always a big hit. I do offer a couple suggestions. I use the round pretzels that are usually available around the holidays. The Rolo fits nicely inside it and makes for the perfect little treat. Also, after these are completely cooled, I melt a cup of white chocolate chips with a little Crisco, place it into a zip lock bag cutting a small hole in the corner. I then drizzle it over the turtles. They turn out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1959 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Awesome. I love making these as Christmas gifts. They're a huge hit. Rolos are the best to use, as caramel Hershey Kisses get messy when you put the pecan on. Oh, and using roasted/salted pecans makes it too salty. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
One of my students brought these to a potluck. They are wonderful! I made them 3 times between Christmas and New Years and everyone loved them. They are very quick to make. Just allow time for them to set up afterward. I also toast the peacans in a pan on the stove before I put them on the pretzel. It makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I have never seen this recipe on here before but I have been making these for years. They are such a big hit. I'll buy Celephane (sp) during christmas and give them away as goody bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
These EASY treats are a hit! I took them to a family gathering and they were inhaled! I felt guilty when I had to explain how easy they were! I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This recipe is so SIMPLE. I love almonds and substitute them for the pecans. I also like to use the small square pretzels designed for dipping. The Rollos fit quite nicely on top of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was is such a wonderful little treat that takes no time at all to make. I had to hide them from my husband because I made about 3 times the size of this batch to bring to a large gathering. They were the first thing gone! I used both rolos and the caramel kisses to see which would work better and I have to say I will only use rolos from now on. They aren't as messy. Also, for some of the treats I substituted M&M's for the pecans. They were very good and colorful too! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,052) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States