Pretzel Turtles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
How did I not ever know about these before??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
amazing, one of the rare recipes that I hardly altered. did listen to the advice of putting pecan on top of Rolo before baking for 4 minutes. The pecan toasted perfectly, smushed the pecan in with an oiled spoon, as another advised. Amazing! Used round small pretzels so round Rolo fit just right. Two 11 oz. bags Rolos and One 10 oz. bag pecan halves and 1/2 of a 15 oz. bag of "mini twist" store brand pretzels made a total of 8 dozen (96) turtle candies, plus the few that got eaten before I could count them! After all Rolos used up, I still have about 2 1/2 cups of pecans, of those about a dozen were not broken so could have made a dozen more candies if I would have had one dozen more Rolos. By the way, when I ran out of Rolo's but still had perfect pecans, I experimented with mini Reese's cups, which didn't work out well. Tasty, but inconsistent melting (only in oven 2 minutes) made them not as attractive, plus the whole thing not getting hard again like the Rolo candies have done. Perhaps they would get hard in the fridge, but unless you have a huge Reese's fan, stick to the original recipe because they are gorgeous as well as yummy.Wish I had white chocolate chips to mix with shortening and decorate with lines as another posted, bet that is even prettier! Next time... because I will DEFINATELY be making these again! The biggest expense was the pecans, got the Rolos on sale after Christmas for $2 a bag. Thanks, CACKI for posting this! My 6 year old son had fun, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
With only 3 ingredients (also a plus) and very little modification it just seemed like 3 ingredients stuck together and not a cohesive treat. However, most who tasted enjoyed. If not bought on sale, the ingredients are expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My daughter says that these need ten stars!!!! they are super easy to make and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I don't think I used the right caramel candy but they are good just the same...we just made them...I had to do a taste test...lol...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
So easy and I can never keep everyone's hands out of my candy tins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musicallyclined
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
My four year old helped me with these. I can't believe how quick and easy they were to make, plus delicious!!! I used honey roasted almonds instead of pecans. Will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I tried Hersey's Kisses caramel filled. They did not work. Caramel squished out all over. Rolos were perfect. My family doesn't like pecans, so I did cashews. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Very easy to make. I had 125 made within 30 minutes. I toasted the pecans at 275° for 5 minutes. As the pecans were toasting I placed the mini pretzel and mini rolo on a waxed paper lined cookie sheet. Popped the cookie sheet in the oven for 2 minutes and then lightly pressed the pecan on the pretzel. I only placed one cookie sheet in the oven at a time as I wanted to put the pecans on the pretzel before they cooled down too much. Each cookie sheet had about 30 pieces, and that gave me enough time to place the pecan on top before the next batch came out of the oven. I then let them cool for about 1 hour then placed then in an air tight container, with wax paper between each layer. One reviewer mentioned the cost per piece. To cut the cost I used my local dollarama store and bought a bag of mini pretzel ($1.25 for 454gms) I used half a bag and mini rolo candy ($2.00 for 130grams) I used 2 bags of candy. The expense is with using the pecans. I used the mini size as I have made these treats for my small grand children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Absolutely delicious!! I used the square pretzels, Rolo candies and walnut halves, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,055) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States