Pretzel Turtles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I have been making these for years now and they are always a big hit. I do offer a couple suggestions. I use the round pretzels that are usually available around the holidays. The Rolo fits nicely inside it and makes for the perfect little treat. Also, after these are completely cooled, I melt a cup of white chocolate chips with a little Crisco, place it into a zip lock bag cutting a small hole in the corner. I then drizzle it over the turtles. They turn out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1968 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Do yourself a favor and double the recipe. As long as you're going to make them, it doesn't really add much more time and expense, and these were a big hit! I couldn't find Rolos, but I did find Dove Chocolates w/Caramel. They worked perfectly and are very good (smoother/creamier than Rolos). I also used the square shaped "Snap" pretzels. The chocolates fit very well on top. Baked the candies for only 3 min. - more than enough time. I think any longer and you run the risk of the caramel squishing out of the chocolate candy when you place the pecan halves on top. Be gentle or you'll have a mess on your hands, and they'll be sticky and messier to hold when served. Chill them out in the fridge for 1/2 hr. or so and they should pop right off the parchment paper. I also pre-toasted the pecans. Toasting/roasting nuts always makes them taste better. Coated the pecan halves with a little melted butter, and baked for 10 - 15 min @ 325 (watch to prevent burning). Let cool, then proceed w/recipe. Again - something so easy, and they're really popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
These have got to be the simplest treat ever to make and yet are SO VERY ADDICTIVE! Make sure that you make at least two batches... one to enjoy right away and another so that you'll have more for tomorrow or for that special event that they were originally intended for! I used the square grid-shaped pretzels with Rolos on top and to save time, I topped them with the pecan halves before placing them in the oven so that the pecans could toast slightly as the Rolos soften. After about 5 minutes in the oven, I just pressed down on each pecan which caused the Rolos to spread out perfectly over the square pretzel. They looked absolutely beautiful and presentable plus you can turn out hundreds of these quite fast. They just take a while to fully cool and set up but this can be remedied too by putting them in the refrigerator on an empty shelf to cool completely before storing them in plastic zip-top bags. These even taste great without the added nuts on top for those (especially kids) that don't quite appreciate nuts. Just flatten the heated Rolos with the back of a slightly oiled spoon to look like little kisses sitting on top. This will definitely be a staple for the holidays. Thank you for sharing this delightful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
616 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
These were a bit too rich for me, but judging by how fast they vanished from the party I brought them to, everyone else must have disagreed with me. These got RAVE REVIEWS! I did take the advice of a few others and here's what you need to do to make these perfect... Use the square "waffle" style pretzels as they absolutely work the best. Don't buy "Rolo's" as your choice of caramel filled chocolates, but rather use the "Dove" brand instead, (they are also square and fit perfectly atop the waffle pretzel). I placed a pecan half on top of each chocolate and baked. When I took them out of the oven, I just gently pushed down on each pecan to make it ooze into the chocolate & caramel. (If you do it this way, you skip the step of toasting the pecans since they toast while they bake.) I would also suggest doubling this if you are taking it to a party. They do not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
These truly are delicious. I make mine in the microwave. I arrange a circle of 9 pretzels (topped with the Rolo) on wax paper on top of a small plastic cutting board. Microwave about 30 seconds, remove from the microwave and squish a pecan half on top of each one. Then I just slide the wax paper off on the counter so they can cool and do another batch. The chocolate should be soft when you squish the nut on, but if the caramel oozed out of the Rolo while in the microwave, cut the time down a couple of seconds. I make the whole bag of Rolos while I'm at it. The thing that takes the longest is unwrapping all of the candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Awesome. I love making these as Christmas gifts. They're a huge hit. Rolos are the best to use, as caramel Hershey Kisses get messy when you put the pecan on. Oh, and using roasted/salted pecans makes it too salty. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I can't wait to make these this way, here is how I have done it.....use kisses instead of rolos and M&M's instead of pecans.....I bet the almonds will be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
One of my students brought these to a potluck. They are wonderful! I made them 3 times between Christmas and New Years and everyone loved them. They are very quick to make. Just allow time for them to set up afterward. I also toast the peacans in a pan on the stove before I put them on the pretzel. It makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I make about 15-20 different Xmas cookies every year. This year, these cookies were the hit of them all. I used one bag of rollo candies and could have made another bag's worth easily. Everybody loved these. This will be one of the "regulars" of the cookie season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was a winning recipe in better homes and gardens a few yrs back. It is the best party snack, when you want just a little something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,058) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States