Pretzel Turtles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
So delicious and great fun to make with the kids. And they make great gifts! I use Dove chocolate covered caramel squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Easy and amazing! Grid pretzels are best, but mini-pretzels will substitute in a pinch. I used the Dove caramels instead of Rolos because I prefer the taste/texture of Dove. Also, I followed the advice of several other reviewers and baked the pecan on top of the chocolate, then lightly pressed it down when I took the turtles from the oven. These were a HUGE hit at several holiday celebrations. These are too easy not to try at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
These turned out great! Made them to snack on around Christmas! Loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Quick and easy crowd pleaser! My store was out of the round pretzels, so I used the regular minis (which ended up being perfect for the square Dove and caramels I put on top). The only downside?? No leftovers :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Super easy and very addicting! You can literally turn 50 of these out with less than 10 minutes of work (plus additional cooling time). A bag of pretzels and a bag of pecan halves go a long way. Each Rolo bag (which is the candy I used) makes about 50. I made about 100 and still have half a bag of pretzels and pecans left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Easy to make. Everyone loved them! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Very easy to make a large quantity in a small amount of time. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kzoopursechic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
How did I not ever know about these before??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
amazing, one of the rare recipes that I hardly altered. did listen to the advice of putting pecan on top of Rolo before baking for 4 minutes. The pecan toasted perfectly, smushed the pecan in with an oiled spoon, as another advised. Amazing! Used round small pretzels so round Rolo fit just right. Two 11 oz. bags Rolos and One 10 oz. bag pecan halves and 1/2 of a 15 oz. bag of "mini twist" store brand pretzels made a total of 8 dozen (96) turtle candies, plus the few that got eaten before I could count them! After all Rolos used up, I still have about 2 1/2 cups of pecans, of those about a dozen were not broken so could have made a dozen more candies if I would have had one dozen more Rolos. By the way, when I ran out of Rolo's but still had perfect pecans, I experimented with mini Reese's cups, which didn't work out well. Tasty, but inconsistent melting (only in oven 2 minutes) made them not as attractive, plus the whole thing not getting hard again like the Rolo candies have done. Perhaps they would get hard in the fridge, but unless you have a huge Reese's fan, stick to the original recipe because they are gorgeous as well as yummy.Wish I had white chocolate chips to mix with shortening and decorate with lines as another posted, bet that is even prettier! Next time... because I will DEFINATELY be making these again! The biggest expense was the pecans, got the Rolos on sale after Christmas for $2 a bag. Thanks, CACKI for posting this! My 6 year old son had fun, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
With only 3 ingredients (also a plus) and very little modification it just seemed like 3 ingredients stuck together and not a cohesive treat. However, most who tasted enjoyed. If not bought on sale, the ingredients are expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,082) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States