Pretzel Turtles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Super fast, super easy, SUPER delish!! These have become a Christmas candy favorite in my family. I use Diamond brand glazed pecan halves, which are a treat by themselves, but really add just a little extra oomph to this chocolately, gooey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Oh my - way too good! We did a taste test with Rolo and Dove Caramels and preferred the Dove. Agree with earlier reviewer that said unwrapping the foil is the hardest part of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Amazing and SO easy! I make these for my neighbors around the holidays and they are always a hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I have been making these for Christmas for the past several years. I lower my oven to 250 and they are perfectly melted in 4 mins. I top mine with toasted pecans and plain and peanut M&M's. We live in the Northeast so I keep them in a zip lock back in the cool garage and they last throughout the Christmas and New Year holidays. I use a generic square pretzel and Rolo candy... and make a lot...they are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are addicting!!!! I've eaten them a few times but have never made them. So easy!!! I used the Snyder's Snap Pretzels. On the Rolo bag it suggested putting on another pretzel instead of the nut. I did those on a few since I have a coworker who doesn't like nuts. We'll see how she likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Perfect for the grands to hellp with. They loved unwraping the candies. We waited for the pan to cool, then the kids topped with nuts of their choosing (they actually liked putting another pretzel on top best). I like putting salted peanuts best. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Easy and delicious--what more could you want? I used square pretzels (not as much chocolate comes through on the bottom), and toasted the pecans for 4 minutes to give them more flavor. I had pounds of pecans from a friend's tree, and this was one of the ways to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Last year when I first made these, I decided to experiment with different types of chocolate covered caramels. The ones that turned out best by far were the ones using Dove brand chocolate caramels. In addition to fitting perfectly over the little square "waffle" pretzels, the chocolate was creamy and melted smoothly. The ones using Rolos had more of a chalky and crumbly texture and didn't melt uniformly. Of course they all tasted fantastic! But the Rolos ones didn't look nice like the ones shown in the photo, which may be important if you're taking them to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are best and easiest treats to make! I can't wait to give my coworkers their gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Field

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great easy recipe. I can't attest to taste, but the Rolos were MUCH easier to work with than the Dove w/ caramel. I made these with two bags of Rolos and one bag of Dove and also experimented with two types of pretzels (Synder's of Hanover Mini and Butter Snaps). I followed the directions exactly (although I toasted the pecans first as other reviewers suggested). The Rolos came out perfect and I was able to push the pecan in gently so that it all stuck to the pretzel, and none of the caramel came out. The Dove did not melt enough, so I either had to push the pecan in too hard and ended up with caramel oozing out the side, or have the three ingredients not stick together. I tried a second time with the Dove leaving them in the oven longer, but that did not help either - the caramel ended up oozing out while in the oven and then I had a mess that I just had to throw away. If I was going to try it with the Dove again, I might try putting them in longer at a lower temperature, but since they taste so good with the Rolos and are cheaper to make that way, I don't think I'll bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,052) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pretzel Turtles

These addictive candies use just three ingredients. Bake and gobble.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Fudgy Pretzel Brownies

See how to make a sweet fudge brownie with a salty, crunchy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States