Pretzel Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this dessert exactly as directed the first time but I couldn't stomach the Jell-o separating and causing the crust to be soggy with liquid (water) in the pan. That was gross. SO, I made it a second time, and, instead of Jell-o, I just put cherry pie filling on top. Now I always use either cherry pie filling or blueberry pie filling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
We love this salad but use frozen raspberries and raspberry jello instead. Frozen strawberries are mushy so much prefer the raspberries and raspberry flavor over strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilbitty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elizabethjohnson
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
It tasted as good as it looked it was a big hit at thanksgiving I'll make this one again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe has been enjoyed by our family for a # of years. Thank you for reminding me again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
this was pretty but got soggy to quickly... didn't go over well at potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Someone used to bring this to church potlucks and I lost the recipe, so I tried this one. It's perfect. Some recipes use more sugar and more coolwhip, but this recipe is plenty sweet. I used unsweetened strawberries. I like a rather course pretzel layer, because it's a nice crunchy contrast. It's not supposed to be like your typical crumb crust--it's supposed to be crunchy--at least it always was years ago at church potlucks. Use pretzels that have salt on them--like rold gold. You want the salty sweet combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Very good flavors, sweet & salty. Easy recipe if you refrigerate each layer well. Let prepared Jello sit in fridge for 45 minutes before spreading it (good tip from another rater). I had a bit of trouble with the pretzel crust -- didn't hold together well; I probably didn't crush them evenly enough. Next time I will use the pre-crushed pretzels crumbs if I can find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very good recipe however I put 6oz pecans with the pretzels. Plus I used gluten free pretzels and it worked out fabulously. I'd like to use something other than Cool Wipe the next time. Hydrogenated vegetable oil isn't a favorite of mine. It tastes great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Max

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this tonight and it is so awesomely good!! I had no problem with the pretzel crust. Came out perfect. I let it cool for about 1/2 hour. (For the cream cheese mixture I used confectioners sugar-same amount instead of white sugar) Been making this cream cheese mixture for 35 years now and always with confectioners sugar. (I make it to put in a graham cracker crust-chill and either eat it plain or with blueberry or cherry pie filling on top) I layered the cream cheese mixture on top of the pretzel crust and made sure it was all the way to the edges to keep jello from seeping through. (I used 3 8oz. cream cheese for more flavor and a thicker layer) I didn't chill after this layer. I poured the cooled jello on top and then added the strawberries so that I could spread them all over evenly. I used frozen strawberries cut in 1/2 and added about 1/3 cup sugar to them to take some of the tartness away as they were thawing. After 4 hours the jello was still not set up so I put it in the freezer for about 45 mins. and then it was perfect!!! Will definitely be making this again. Might try the raspberries and raspberry jello next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Adams Hogan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was very much a disappointment. The picture of the truffle dish was never mentioned in the recipe. I would of used a smaller square pan and you have to cool the layers before adding the gelatin mixture. When I followed the directions I had a huge ugly mess that even my kids didn't like. No I wouldn't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by froglady1965

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States