Pretzel Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this for a party and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Very good. Great taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
YEAH! My family has been using this recipe for years. I lost my copy and was SO happy to find it. One tip -- if you buy the larger container of whipped topping, you can spread that on top of the strawberries for and extra layer. AND if you're feeling even more adventerous slice fresh strawberries on top. NOTES: 1. cut the water back to 1 cup -- the frozen strawberries will add the extra water. Otherwise your gelitan will be too soft. 2. make sure you seal pretzel crust with the cream cheese / whipped topping layer. Otherwise the liquid will seep into the pretzel layer and make it soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I made it for a church potluck and I received alot of compliments, everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
There IS a trick to this recipe! When you spread the cream cheese/Cool Whip layer, you need to "seal off" the pretzel layer. In other words, you need to spread it on carefully and make NO corners or edges are left out where the jello layer can seep in. If your pretzels turned out soggy (mine did the first time i did this recipe), you didn't spread the cream cheese/Cool Whip on properly. When it comes out right (with crunchy pretzels), this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
At first glance, this recipe seems odd, but believe me, it is great. I have been making it for years and have used all different flavors of jello. You can make it a light low fat dessert if you use the sugarfree jello, fresh fruit, low fat cool whip and low fat cream cheese and you would never know it is lowfat. Great for social events because it makes a large amount. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
My middle daughter requests this dessert instead of a cake on her birthday. The key to making this dessert turn out great is to be sure and seal the cream cheese/whipped topping layer around the edges so the cooled Jello won't seep into the pretzel layer below. The sweet/salty crust is a nice compliment to the other layers. This is a winner with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious. This turned out great. Use only 1 cup of water though. As other reviewers stated, definitely be sure to seal off the pretzel layer w/ the cream chz mixture. Also, let the layers cool completely before topping w/ the next layer. The jello should start to set up a little b/4 you pour it on the cream chz mixture. When prepared this way, you should definitely have a crunchy pretzel crust and a distinct layer of cream cheese and a layer of jello. I tried it w/ raspberry jello & mixed berries. That was good but I think I'll stick to the strawberry version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
My aunt had made this for me a few years ago and I love it, then I lost the recipe. This was wonderful, easy and light. We served this at my daughter's graduation party, it was such a hit! This was requested over the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilgto1966

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I make this dessert all the time and everyone always loves it. I do the jello/frozen fruit layer differently however....I pour the package of jello into a bowl and add 1 cup of boiling water to it. Then I use the quick set method on the side of the jello box by adding 1 1/2 cups of ice water to the jello and refridgerate for about 20 minutes then I add the frozen strawberries/raspberries. I wait until the jello is half set before pouring it over the well-sealed cream cheese mixture. I hope this helps some of you - I've never had my pretzel layer get soggy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States