Pretzel Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
There IS a trick to this recipe! When you spread the cream cheese/Cool Whip layer, you need to "seal off" the pretzel layer. In other words, you need to spread it on carefully and make NO corners or edges are left out where the jello layer can seep in. If your pretzels turned out soggy (mine did the first time i did this recipe), you didn't spread the cream cheese/Cool Whip on properly. When it comes out right (with crunchy pretzels), this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
YEAH! My family has been using this recipe for years. I lost my copy and was SO happy to find it. One tip -- if you buy the larger container of whipped topping, you can spread that on top of the strawberries for and extra layer. AND if you're feeling even more adventerous slice fresh strawberries on top. NOTES: 1. cut the water back to 1 cup -- the frozen strawberries will add the extra water. Otherwise your gelitan will be too soft. 2. make sure you seal pretzel crust with the cream cheese / whipped topping layer. Otherwise the liquid will seep into the pretzel layer and make it soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I make this dessert all the time and everyone always loves it. I do the jello/frozen fruit layer differently however....I pour the package of jello into a bowl and add 1 cup of boiling water to it. Then I use the quick set method on the side of the jello box by adding 1 1/2 cups of ice water to the jello and refridgerate for about 20 minutes then I add the frozen strawberries/raspberries. I wait until the jello is half set before pouring it over the well-sealed cream cheese mixture. I hope this helps some of you - I've never had my pretzel layer get soggy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Im only giving this recipe 4 stars since the recipe itself isnt all that accurate. Ive made a different version of this...The final product itself though (when done right) is awesome! I just think that there are some mistakes on the directions themselves. ******These are the changes I made: 1 cup melted butter rather than margarine 1 1/2 packages (16oz) frozen whole strawberries, thawed 1 plus 1 partial (6oz) package strawberry gelatin I started the jello right away since I knew that it would need to PARTIALLY Set in the refridgerator while I prepared the rest of the ingredients. I did use the 2 cups of boiling water, but I also added about 1/4 of the 2nd package of jello to ensure it sets correctly. Once I added the strawberries (which were mostly thawed, I used a potato masher to crush them a bit). I transfered the entire saucepan of jello into the fridge and began the next steps. It is also very important to complete the baking process as well as sealing off the entire layer of pretzels to prevent the jello from seeping into the pretzel. HOWEVER, the seeping wont be much of an issue if the jello is partially set (like jelly/jam texture almost) and the cream cheese layer is well chilled after you layer it. Pour jello over cream cheese layer and chill at least a few more hours to set properly. The directions make it seem like this is a fast, quick step process. But each step takes time in between for setting, chilling and setting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeeziebrb

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I have a friend that makes this (her own recipe) and this one turned out nothing like hers. She said to cut the water back to 1 cup boiling water. She said there was too much water. I stirred it on the stove(water,strawberries&jello) for 20 min and it just wouldn't thicken. I poured it on top of the pretzels & cheese and it leaked underneath the dessert and made the pretzels soggy. None of the jello stayed on top. When my friend makes it it looks like a perfect casserole with the jello nice and neat on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
THIS IS SO GOOD, i DO COOL EACH LAYER AND COMPLETLY COVER PETZELS WITH CREAM CHEESE LAYER TO SEAL AN PROTECT PRETZELS FROM GETTING SOGGY. ALSO I BOIL WATER FOR GELATIN (OR FRUIT JUICE) THEN REMOVE FROM HEAT, STIR IN FROZEN FRUIT AND REFRIGERATE FOR 30-60 MINS, TIL IT STARTS TO FORM OR SET, THEN POUR OVER CREAM CHEESE LAYER.. NEVER HAS IT EVER FAILED. I ALSO HAVE USED CHOCOLATE WHIPPED CREAM OR COCOA TO WHIPPED CREAM TO MAKE IT MORE A CHOCOLATE COVERED STRAWBERRY FUN THING. aLWAYS TAKE A CLEAN PAN HOME... NEVER ANY LEFT OVERS. SSSOOOOOOO GGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOODDDDDD THANKS FOR RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAMMA KATSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
My middle daughter requests this dessert instead of a cake on her birthday. The key to making this dessert turn out great is to be sure and seal the cream cheese/whipped topping layer around the edges so the cooled Jello won't seep into the pretzel layer below. The sweet/salty crust is a nice compliment to the other layers. This is a winner with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! I have been making this very recipe for 10 years, only I make mine with Raspberries instead of Strawberries. I think it adds a nice tartness to the dish. I am definently going to try the strawberries next time, and I recommend that you try it with the raspberries! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I have to say that I do love this dessert but when making it for the first time, my jello did not thicken like the directions said it would. I had to place the jello and strawberry mixure in the fridge for quite a while til it set up. I was very disappointed by this clinch in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
At first glance, this recipe seems odd, but believe me, it is great. I have been making it for years and have used all different flavors of jello. You can make it a light low fat dessert if you use the sugarfree jello, fresh fruit, low fat cool whip and low fat cream cheese and you would never know it is lowfat. Great for social events because it makes a large amount. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States