Pretzel Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Very good. Great taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I have a friend that makes this (her own recipe) and this one turned out nothing like hers. She said to cut the water back to 1 cup boiling water. She said there was too much water. I stirred it on the stove(water,strawberries&jello) for 20 min and it just wouldn't thicken. I poured it on top of the pretzels & cheese and it leaked underneath the dessert and made the pretzels soggy. None of the jello stayed on top. When my friend makes it it looks like a perfect casserole with the jello nice and neat on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
YEAH! My family has been using this recipe for years. I lost my copy and was SO happy to find it. One tip -- if you buy the larger container of whipped topping, you can spread that on top of the strawberries for and extra layer. AND if you're feeling even more adventerous slice fresh strawberries on top. NOTES: 1. cut the water back to 1 cup -- the frozen strawberries will add the extra water. Otherwise your gelitan will be too soft. 2. make sure you seal pretzel crust with the cream cheese / whipped topping layer. Otherwise the liquid will seep into the pretzel layer and make it soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I made it for a church potluck and I received alot of compliments, everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
The granddaughters helped to make this on Christmas Day. I was confused by the ending directions. The gelatin never thickened and I was not sure whether to pour the hot liquid over the cream cheese mixture or not. I did. It was good but the liquid made the pretzels soggy after a while. I will make it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I don't think I will make this again. I really expected the pretzel crust to be crunchy but it was like soaked bread. No one even knew it was pretzels on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this for a party and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
There IS a trick to this recipe! When you spread the cream cheese/Cool Whip layer, you need to "seal off" the pretzel layer. In other words, you need to spread it on carefully and make NO corners or edges are left out where the jello layer can seep in. If your pretzels turned out soggy (mine did the first time i did this recipe), you didn't spread the cream cheese/Cool Whip on properly. When it comes out right (with crunchy pretzels), this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This did not turn out at all. The jello never set up and even though I made sure to seal off the pretzel crust, the jello still managed to seep down into it. It was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
At first glance, this recipe seems odd, but believe me, it is great. I have been making it for years and have used all different flavors of jello. You can make it a light low fat dessert if you use the sugarfree jello, fresh fruit, low fat cool whip and low fat cream cheese and you would never know it is lowfat. Great for social events because it makes a large amount. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States