Pretzel Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! I have been making this very recipe for 10 years, only I make mine with Raspberries instead of Strawberries. I think it adds a nice tartness to the dish. I am definently going to try the strawberries next time, and I recommend that you try it with the raspberries! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Wow...I have tried making a pretzel dessert several times and I could never get the jello to set. I thought...Okay, I'll try it one more time with this recipe and it finally worked!! Thanks for the recipe, it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I make this dessert all the time and everyone always loves it. I do the jello/frozen fruit layer differently however....I pour the package of jello into a bowl and add 1 cup of boiling water to it. Then I use the quick set method on the side of the jello box by adding 1 1/2 cups of ice water to the jello and refridgerate for about 20 minutes then I add the frozen strawberries/raspberries. I wait until the jello is half set before pouring it over the well-sealed cream cheese mixture. I hope this helps some of you - I've never had my pretzel layer get soggy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
My aunt had made this for me a few years ago and I love it, then I lost the recipe. This was wonderful, easy and light. We served this at my daughter's graduation party, it was such a hit! This was requested over the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilgto1966

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Delicious. This turned out great. Use only 1 cup of water though. As other reviewers stated, definitely be sure to seal off the pretzel layer w/ the cream chz mixture. Also, let the layers cool completely before topping w/ the next layer. The jello should start to set up a little b/4 you pour it on the cream chz mixture. When prepared this way, you should definitely have a crunchy pretzel crust and a distinct layer of cream cheese and a layer of jello. I tried it w/ raspberry jello & mixed berries. That was good but I think I'll stick to the strawberry version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
My middle daughter requests this dessert instead of a cake on her birthday. The key to making this dessert turn out great is to be sure and seal the cream cheese/whipped topping layer around the edges so the cooled Jello won't seep into the pretzel layer below. The sweet/salty crust is a nice compliment to the other layers. This is a winner with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
At first glance, this recipe seems odd, but believe me, it is great. I have been making it for years and have used all different flavors of jello. You can make it a light low fat dessert if you use the sugarfree jello, fresh fruit, low fat cool whip and low fat cream cheese and you would never know it is lowfat. Great for social events because it makes a large amount. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This did not turn out at all. The jello never set up and even though I made sure to seal off the pretzel crust, the jello still managed to seep down into it. It was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
There IS a trick to this recipe! When you spread the cream cheese/Cool Whip layer, you need to "seal off" the pretzel layer. In other words, you need to spread it on carefully and make NO corners or edges are left out where the jello layer can seep in. If your pretzels turned out soggy (mine did the first time i did this recipe), you didn't spread the cream cheese/Cool Whip on properly. When it comes out right (with crunchy pretzels), this recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this for a party and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States