Pretzel Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Im only giving this recipe 4 stars since the recipe itself isnt all that accurate. Ive made a different version of this...The final product itself though (when done right) is awesome! I just think that there are some mistakes on the directions themselves. ******These are the changes I made: 1 cup melted butter rather than margarine 1 1/2 packages (16oz) frozen whole strawberries, thawed 1 plus 1 partial (6oz) package strawberry gelatin I started the jello right away since I knew that it would need to PARTIALLY Set in the refridgerator while I prepared the rest of the ingredients. I did use the 2 cups of boiling water, but I also added about 1/4 of the 2nd package of jello to ensure it sets correctly. Once I added the strawberries (which were mostly thawed, I used a potato masher to crush them a bit). I transfered the entire saucepan of jello into the fridge and began the next steps. It is also very important to complete the baking process as well as sealing off the entire layer of pretzels to prevent the jello from seeping into the pretzel. HOWEVER, the seeping wont be much of an issue if the jello is partially set (like jelly/jam texture almost) and the cream cheese layer is well chilled after you layer it. Pour jello over cream cheese layer and chill at least a few more hours to set properly. The directions make it seem like this is a fast, quick step process. But each step takes time in between for setting, chilling and setting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
One of my favorite desserts and I don't even really like Jello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is delicious and easy! I just made this dessert and decided to use fresh peaches from our Peach tree and Peach jello. I also added brown sugar to the crust and to the Peach mixture to give it a more cobbler-ish taste! It turned out great. Before I used a mix of raspberrys and blackberrys, with raspberry jello. I think I still like that mix best, but the Peach is still Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I love this dessert- my mom's been making this for family get togethers ever since I can remember,except she puts the strawberries & jello as the middle layer and cream cheese/whipped topping as the top layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Excellent. Exactly the recipes I was looking for. I had fresh strawberries and used them. I just added them to the boiling jello and let them cook a minute so that they would be soft. Made sure to seal the pretzels as others had mentioned with the cream cheese mixture, and they didn't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Over all this was excellent 1 child didn't like the strawberries themselves, but loved the jello and everything else. The other children loved it. I liked it but my only complaint would be---I had to preform jello retachment surgery before taking the photo. The little booger (the jello part) decided to fly right off the top of the cream cheese layer in route to the plate. And the crust was a bit crumble---but oh so darn good. I might have used a little bit more butter and sugar to get a firmer crust out of it, but it was really a crunchy goodness part of the recipe. I did use unsalted butter because there was plenty of salt from the pretzels....Will totally make again. But for my son, I won't be adding the straberry fruit in for him because of his preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
My daughter's old teacher was making this dessert when my daughter called her to wish her a happy birthday, so I decided to look up the recipe. There were so many similar recipes but I decided to go with this one after reviewing many comments and tips. My son crushed the pretzels and it came to about 2 cups crushed. We used 1 1/2 stick of butter as that is what I had left in the house (and other variations of this recipe called for this amount.) I use the 1/3 fat cream cheese. My local store only had 16 oz bags of whole frozen strawberries so I went with those and sliced them. One thing that was confusing about this recipe, and the reason I only gave this 4 stars, is that in the last step it says to stir in the frozen strawberries after it is boiling and it makes it sound as if you should leave it on the stove to get it to thicken. If I am not mistaken, Jello will not thicken if it continues to boil, it needs to cool. If I had not read other recipes and the comments I may have made this mistake. However, I took the saucepan and let it cool in the fridge for about 30 minutes then I poured it over the cream cheese mixture. I also followed what other reviewers had said and made sure the cream cheese layer completely sealed off the pretzel layer. I put this in 2- 9 inch pie plates and it was perfect. Except that after it set and I covered it with foil the Jello layer stuck right to the foil. I also liked it better the next day, the pretzels were less crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I have to say that I do love this dessert but when making it for the first time, my jello did not thicken like the directions said it would. I had to place the jello and strawberry mixure in the fridge for quite a while til it set up. I was very disappointed by this clinch in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
My sons think this is the best jello ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Very yummy! Love the sweet and salty combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States