Pretzel Coated Fried Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was VERY good! I pan fried it in a deep skillet, 5 minutes per side, and it came out perfectly. I was worried the larger pieces of pretzel wouldn't stay on, but they did. The coating was wonderfully crunchy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Followed the recipe, except used talapia instead of cod & boy where these good! Thought the seasoning was perfect. Was worried that they may fry too long because they got fairly dark, but, came out nice and crunchy & perfect--not dry. I don't know if it makes a huge difference but, after I egg/coated the fish, I let them rest for about 5-10min. before frying--I just think they set up better. Served w/ tarter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This was a great way to coat fish!! It turned out great! All I had to do was tell my kids that it had pretzels on it and they were all for it! I added a bit more seasoning and ended up crushing a little more than I had initially. I thought that it was super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I really liked the coating, but I will add some Old Bay for a little more flavor next time. I fried the fish in EVOO to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was good. I changed the recipe, but not on purpose. I didn't realize until i started cooking that i didn't have enough pretzels! I made up the differnce with some herbed stuffing mix. Pan fried them in just a little bit of oil and was very surprised how tasty they came out. My 5 yr old thought i bought them from the store because they tasted like our favorite brand of frozen fish sticks! DH, the fried fish snob, complimented me on how crunchy they were even after they were reheated. Great recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
My new favorite fish! I cooked some fresh water bass. I also added a little garlic powder and seasoned salt to the flour. I mixed olive oil and corn oil for cooking. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Great base - but there was just something missing... I'll definitely try it again sometime - but will probably just stick to using Fish Crisp until I figure this one out ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I will definately do this one again!! Folled recipe exactly and it made a very tasty dinner with a side of potatoe salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyO
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was really good! The only thing I would change is to add a bit more salt. I bet this would be great with seasoned chicken breasts as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was pretty good and it was easy to do. Next time I would add something to add some flavor, instead of just salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States