Pretzel Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Other than reducing the milk by 1/4 cup, I followed the recipe as written. The dough was impossible to handle, but I kept going, thinking that the buns would be really tender. But in the end these just didn't taste much like pretzels and we didn't enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Pour yourself some AMAZING pretzel rolls! Yes, the dough is VERY sticky...I'd even say "pourable". But don't let this discourage you. I made the dough in a food processor and used less than 5 cups of flour. After looking at the dough with every flour addition I guessed that it was not going to come together in the "ball". I made and educated guess to stop adding flour and pour in the bowl to rise. It rose beautifully! I dipped the measuring cup in flour and floured my hands too before rolling it out. I heated the water and processed the "buns" like baking bagels...not just a quick dip. These came out perfect...my kids gobbled them up and requested the rolls for their lunchboxes! I am glad I used less flour and mixing because more would have yielded tough rolls. I made larger rolls (that had to be cut in half...they were more like mini-loaves) but next time I will make them smaller (like hamburger/slider size). You can shape the rolls...just take your time and keep your hands/counter floured. Mine were tied in cool knots! This recipe is a keeper! Thank you "Brittsky"!!!...my kids thank you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Awesome! So good! I double the size of each bun to use them as sandwich buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These came out fantastic! I made a whole bunch to use as buns for weekday lunch sandwiches! I will most certainly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
After reading the reviews, the stickiness of the dough seemed to be an issue, so I reduced the amount of milk to 1-3/4 cups. Kept everything else the same (including 6 cups of A/P flour), and let the KA do all of the kneading. This yielded absolutely beautiful dough so easy to work with. I'm new to yeast bread baking, and I wasn't sure what dipping the dough into the baking soda-water mixture did, but you definitely get a little bit of that taste, and that's a good thing, so don't skip this step. I formed these into different shapes...coiled, square, round, made a few bread sticks, and topped with Trader Joe's kosher salt. Next time I make these, I'll make more bread sticks because they are delicious dipped into mustard. The baked bun texture is perfect, the dough very pliable (not at all sticky), and the flavor similar to the mall pretzels. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe...this one is going into my favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I used whole wheat flour instead of ap flour, oil instead of shortening, and 3 T honey in place of the sugar. They are relatively easy to make, and were loved by my family! I'l be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
The dough is sticky but the flavor was great. I will make this again but rolll it into roung buns instead of the long sticks. My family loved it and ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This dough is sooo sticky! Impossible to shape as written. Would need much more flour. I now have it baking in a loaf pan. Not much hope for an edible product.... I am an experienced baker.... One star, only because required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETSY

Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States