Pretzel Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Instead of just dipping in the soda and water solution, boil 4 cups of water in large pot then add soda (it will bubble up) turn down heat so it is simmering. Place the buns one at a time in for 40 seconds maximum. Then put on baking sheet and brush with butter and add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I realized after doing all the mixing that there were no instructions to add the yeast mixture to the flour/wet ingredients...or when. I'm surprised no one else had that issue. I read and reread the instructions and I just don't see it! Nevertheless, I added it at the end and the buns came out beautiful. A couple of comments: 6" log isn't really long enough. I would say 8-10" if you want to do any type of spiral. "Dipping" the buns into the water & baking soda is not as easy as it seems if you want to keep the spiral shape. I used a perforated spatula, but think any spatula would work. Some of the buns had to be reshaped after their bath. I made each bun 4 oz. each and they doubled in size while baking and were a healthy size when done. Nothing was said about what to bake these on. I used parchment paper and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Excellent recipe. Just for fun, instead of making rolls as described, I pulled of chunks of dough, rolled them flat, added a tiny mound of sausage, cheese and chili sauce, and then gathered up the corners and pinching them to make a stuffed roll. I used ham and cheese for some others. They were excellent and a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Amazing when fresh, good the next day, rock hard on day 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JEM
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Absolutely live this recipe!!! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
These were quite delicious and fairly easy to make. The dough was very sticky, so I just kneaded it in my kitchen aid for about 5-7 minutes. I might try halving the sugar next time. I prefer pretzels rolls a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I followed it to the letter and didn't change a thing because nothing needs changing. I was able to mix and knead all the ingredients in the Kitchenaid and the dough turned out beautifully. I weigh the dough and divided it evenly into 12 buns and they are big and light and fluffy. We used them for pulled pork and coleslaw sandwiches and the buns held up nicely, they didn't get soggy or fall apart. Definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was my first experience making buns or bread of any sort, I followed the recipe and they turned out wonderfully! The dough wss very sticky but they still turned out delicious my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rocky
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My first time ever baking bread. I just used a lot of flour when kneading to keep it from sticking, and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
these are great! I only made 1/2 a batch not knowing how they would turn out. Next time I make these I will make them much smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States