Pretty Ham Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Not much for following recipes to the letter, (they're more inspiration for me) I made the following changes: - omitted mushrooms (cause yuck! fungus!) - substituted bouillon granules for equal amount of organic vegetable "base" (paste) - salted the pasta water but not the sauce - added garlic and red pepper spice blend (2 tsp) with italian seasoning - used skim milk - subbed spaghetti for butternut squash ravioli (available at Costco - yum!) - used a sprinkling of shredded cheese mix including parm, provolone, mozza and gouda (leftover) while peas and ham warmed Pasta was good with these changes although obviously a bit different of a dish. Italian spice was the most noteable flavour but it was pleasant. Dish was good but not spectacular. I would make again or recommend but have many other pasta sauces (like my chipotle alfredo or pesto alfredo) that both my boyfriend and I prefer by a long way so might not get around to trying this one again after all. Definitely quick, easy and worth a go at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was a great recipe. The non-pea-eating members of the family ate it. The non-mushroom-eating members of the family ate it. No one had any complaints. I tossed in some seeded and chopped tomatos because I thot it would be good, and it was. And I increased the volume of pasta to make the dish stretch a little. But I made the main recipe as stated, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
What a wonderful way to use up leftover Easter ham! I had enough to make a large-ish half batch and I was sure glad I did. I've always wanted a nice summery dish for that little heel of ham that seems to lurk in the fridge after Easter, that you just can't think of a new way to prepare...it was hearty, but light and super flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
this is really good...tho i added garlic (add garlic to most things...didn't have frozen peas either ... but it was a tasty comforting dish...thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This was very good. I made the sauce separately and used carrots and celery for the veggies. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Really good. I might have put too much italian seasoning or it didn't combine well. Not sure but other than that, it was a nice recipe. Through in a little bit of zucchini as well. Husband hates peas and cringed when he saw me adding them. He ended up not being bothered at all by their presence in the recipe. That's good, cuz I sure love peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was quite good. I added zucchini and chopped bell pepper just to increase the vegetables from only mushrooms and peas. Since I don't care for rosemary and it's in Italian seasoning, I only added about a teaspoon of oregano along with garlic and a pinch of red pepper flakes. I used whole wheat linguine and fat-free half and half because that's all I had (we were out of milk). Instead of Parmesan, I used a couple wedges of Laughing Cow garlic and herb flavored cheese which I pinched into blobs and let it melt into the sauce. Sorry to make changes, but I'm on Weight Watchers and I needed to lighten this up just a bit. This was just what I was in the mood for and DH ate two huge helpings. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These flavors do not go toghether. Italian seasoning and ham is a bad combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great way to use up leftover ham. This dish was pretty tasty, and I will likely make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was good, I used canned peas so they weren't as bright as frozen. But a nice simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States