Pretty Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
As the creator of this recipe, it is very important to note that this recipe calls for low sodium soy sauce. Don't even bother attempting this if you are using regular soy sauce, it will be too salty. Update 7/2/08: I do not recommend making this recipe on the stove top. The marinade can't cook off enough when trapped in a skillet...stick to the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
546 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Excellent flavor. I made this on Friday during a snow storm and rather than grill outside (hee-hee), I marinated the chicken for 2 hours, then added everything, marinade and all, to a baking dish, covered with aluminum foil and baked in a preheated 350 degree oven for 30 minutes. Half-way through I used a turkey baster to coat chicken and prevent from drying. After 30 minutes, I removed foil for 5 minutes to crisp top. It came out perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very nice recipe with great flavor. Made the first time and it was wonderful. Made it the second time with fresh squeezed orange juice as I was out of lemon juice. Even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This marinade is awesome!!! I made a few substitutions and it just couldn't have been better!! Subbed Dijon for Spicy brown mustard, and for the liquid smoke, I used about a Tbsp of Kitchen Bouquet and added a packet of Goya Ham Flavored Seasoning. I allowed the chicken to marinate for about 3-4 hours then grilled/smoked them on a charcoal grill. Absolutely THE best chicken we have ever eaten!! It wasn't salty at all and I even used regular Soy Sauce. I fixed this for my husband and had the chicken ready when he got home. The chicken was grilled and carmel colored and we're fixing it again for the 4th!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.B.Estes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Nice blend of flavors. This will become a regular in our house. I did marinate the chicken for over 6 hours and did not find that the lemon started to cook the chicken. I use many marinades that take 24 hours and contain lemon and have never had any adverse effect on the meat. Thanks TaraNicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Great Marinade! I followed the recipe exactly even though I was half tempted to substitute dijon mustard for the spicy brown. I'm glad I didn't. The liquid smoke is a nice addition. I also pounded the chicken down thin and let it marinate all day. I'm not sure why there's a four hour time limit here. I had no problems. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Liquid Smoke is found on the same shelf as any steak marinade. It gives marinades that smoky flavor you get when grilling with wood. It's potent, so a little goes a long way. Right after placing the chicken on the grill, cover with lid. Will help seal that smoky taste into the meat and also helps cook the chicken through without drying out the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I used bone-in breasts and drumsticks. I substituted Dijon for the spicy brown mustard and in addition to all the other ingredients I added about 2 tablespoons of chili garlic sauce (asian food aisle). The result was amazing. The taste of the marinade really soaks into the chicken and gives it a nice caramel color after grilling. Will make often. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
DH and I LOVED this marinade recipe! It has just the right flavors...and I followed the recipe to a "T"! I cooked the chicken on the grill until it was 165 F internal on my stem thermometer... moist, JUICY, full of flavor and perfectly cooked through. (BTW, the ONLY reason that chicken, esp. breasts are DRY is because they are OVERCOOKED.) DH commented several times during dinner how much he liked the flavor of this chicken! I used regular old Kikkoman soy sauce and it was just fine... I served this with my own published recipe "Mediterranean Bean Salad" and it was a perfect combination! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a hit on Father's Day. I skewered boneless skinless chicken tenderloins and threw them on the grill! I was worried that they were going to taste to strong because of the golden brown color but they were great! Not too salty and the liquid smoke was a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Marinade for Chicken

This versatile marinade is great for grilling chicken, and is simple to make.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States