Pressure Cooker Red Beans and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
thank you for a great starter recipe...First let me say i have never made Red Beans from scratch that I liked... but i LOVED these. I did do a little tweaking to my taste...I put 2 cloves garlic, added 1/2# ham chunks which i cooked with the beans (held the sausage until after cooking under pressure)1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce 1 tsp thyme 1 chicken bouillon cube and 1 tsp Tabasco Chipotle sauce extra bay leaf.... i did soak my beans about 4 hrs and cooked in pressure cooker for 50 minutes and then another 10 after adding 1/2 # of sausage.... they were so delicious... best i ever had... and i live in South Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I loved this. Had nice flavor/kick. I pretty much followed recipe to the letter except I couldn't find 16oz size sausage so used 14oz instead. Only issue I had was the cooking time, had to add another 10-15 minutes as beans were still a little hard. I also served it over rice. Very nice, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
The beans turned out great. The consistency of the sausage was different but I liked it. MY wife did not. Since making her happy is a priority I am going to add the sausage later. As this was my first pressure cooker experiment, I may have undercooked them initially. I ended up stirring and mashing once the pressure was down and then put them on for another 5 minutes. Next time I will cook for 20 minutes, stir and mash and THEN add sausage, cook for another 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We enjoyed this dish. Easy to make with readily available ingredients. I served it over rice. A nice foray into pressure cooker cooking. I used half the sausage and added some home-grown bacon. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was a great recipe. I've been cooking red beans in my pressure cooker for a couple years now. The only differences I've never used cumin. I do add my sausage with my red beans but I slice my sausage and then sauté with my onions and bell peppers before adding the rest of the ingredients. I think this helps to keep texture of the sausage. After cooking for 30 minutes I take the lid off and adjust my settings to Browning which will bring the liquid to a boil. As it is boiling I mash some beans let it boil for about 10 minutes and it will get nice and creamy. Serve over white rice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! And I'm a southern girl. The pressure cooker brings out all the flavor. Because this was also for my kids, I would probably use half as much Cajun seasoning. The pressure cooker brings out the cayenne in it, making this a tad bit spicy but still delicious. And in just 30 min. This is a great find
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great recipe. I added a little thyme and oregano and 6 cups of water. Also I ended up adding the whole onion and bell pepper so I wouldn't have half lying around. I did find it needed more cooking time. I cooked it for 30 minutes. While it was cooking I browned the sausage. Let it release naturally and then added the sausage and cooked for 10 more minutes. Next time I might go 15 minutes to make them fall apart a little more for a creamier texture. I wasn't in any real hurry, but if you are you could quick release and add more time to your cooking. It turned out great. I think the whole thing took an hour. I also have a regular Wal-Mart stove top pressure cooker and that's the time I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Enjoyed this recipe very much. SOAK THE BEANS! I put them to soak at 7 AM, and I started cooking at 5 PM, and they turned out perfect in 30 minutes. I use a flame tamer whenever I cook rice in the PC, I recommend it if you've had problems burning rice in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was so great - my family ate every bit. We put it over plain rice. The only change was that we had to pressure cook for much longer, about 55 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Love this recipe! I've never had much luck getting the beans soft enough with 30 minutes so I let them cook in my Fagor pressure cooker for about 50 minutes. Once that's done, I let the pressure drop naturally. I usually have some excess water so I turn the burner on with the lid off. YUMS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States