Pressure Cooker Red Beans and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We enjoyed this dish. Easy to make with readily available ingredients. I served it over rice. A nice foray into pressure cooker cooking. I used half the sausage and added some home-grown bacon. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
The beans turned out great. The consistency of the sausage was different but I liked it. MY wife did not. Since making her happy is a priority I am going to add the sausage later. As this was my first pressure cooker experiment, I may have undercooked them initially. I ended up stirring and mashing once the pressure was down and then put them on for another 5 minutes. Next time I will cook for 20 minutes, stir and mash and THEN add sausage, cook for another 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
My entire family gobbled this up! I added some vegetable bouillon to the water and sprinkled red pepper flakes over the top for some heat. This was as good as any of the restaurant versions I've eaten in New Orleans. The pressure cooker makes it a breeze to whip up, and we will definitely be adding this to our regular dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I loved this. Had nice flavor/kick. I pretty much followed recipe to the letter except I couldn't find 16oz size sausage so used 14oz instead. Only issue I had was the cooking time, had to add another 10-15 minutes as beans were still a little hard. I also served it over rice. Very nice, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This was so great - my family ate every bit. We put it over plain rice. The only change was that we had to pressure cook for much longer, about 55 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
The flavors of this are good, but after an hour of cooking my beans still weren't quite done. Next time I will soak the beans overnight, then cook for 20 minutes without the sausage, mash the beans, add the sausage and cook another 20 minutes (as mentioned by another reviewer.) Time consuming, but easy and it should produce a more desired result. Be careful about the amount of water (don't add too little) since the beans will absorb water. After mashing adjust as necessary. Also - I only used 1 1/2 T. of cajun seasoning and it was on the verge of too much for us. 2 T. would have been way to much. I'm not Cajun, so that's part of the reason. But better to err on the side of caution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Enjoyed this recipe very much. SOAK THE BEANS! I put them to soak at 7 AM, and I started cooking at 5 PM, and they turned out perfect in 30 minutes. I use a flame tamer whenever I cook rice in the PC, I recommend it if you've had problems burning rice in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Flavor was great, no changes to spices. Used quick soak method to prepare the beans. This was the first time I made red beans and didn't realize I was supposed to mash some of the beans to thicken the base, so I had 3 of 5 cups of liquid remaining after the pressure was released. I used a slotted spoon to remove the beans and the flavor was not affected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
thank you for a great starter recipe...First let me say i have never made Red Beans from scratch that I liked... but i LOVED these. I did do a little tweaking to my taste...I put 2 cloves garlic, added 1/2# ham chunks which i cooked with the beans (held the sausage until after cooking under pressure)1 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce 1 tsp thyme 1 chicken bouillon cube and 1 tsp Tabasco Chipotle sauce extra bay leaf.... i did soak my beans about 4 hrs and cooked in pressure cooker for 50 minutes and then another 10 after adding 1/2 # of sausage.... they were so delicious... best i ever had... and i live in South Louisiana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great recipe. I added a little thyme and oregano and 6 cups of water. Also I ended up adding the whole onion and bell pepper so I wouldn't have half lying around. I did find it needed more cooking time. I cooked it for 30 minutes. While it was cooking I browned the sausage. Let it release naturally and then added the sausage and cooked for 10 more minutes. Next time I might go 15 minutes to make them fall apart a little more for a creamier texture. I wasn't in any real hurry, but if you are you could quick release and add more time to your cooking. It turned out great. I think the whole thing took an hour. I also have a regular Wal-Mart stove top pressure cooker and that's the time I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States