Pressure Cooker Italian Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Now THIS is why I love love love my pressure cooker! Under an hour from start to finish, healthy and tasted like I cooked it all day! I have a big Presto that I use for canning and large roasts, etc. I used my little stove top pressure cooker for this recipe. Followed it exactly except I didn't have any barley (I will include it next time as I think it would be a great addition), I used frozen microwave thawed spinach and I added some fresh oregano to the parsley. Also salt and pepper to taste. Just an all around GREAT pressure cooker recipe! My husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I haven't used my pressure cooker in so long, I chickened out and put this recipe in the slow cooker and it was excellent. I went with what I had on hand which meant omitting the barley and lentils and salsa and replacing spinach with kale. Will definitely make this again. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is a wonderful, hearty and healthy soup. I realize there are purists out there that say why rate a recipe 5 stars if modifications were made. Well, I say, it's ok! I made one or two modifications based upon what was on hand and to my taste -- but that does not negate the wonderful recipe shared! I used two Jenni-O HOT Italian turkey sausages and two regular mild italitan sausages. Followed the instructions exactly. The only other thing I changed was to add half a can of diced tomatoes (per another reviewer). The real kicker was adding fresh squeezed lemon juice of HALF of a SMALL lemon. To me, it added a nice bright freshness to the heaviness of the other ingredients. This is a wonderful recipe as is or with a modification or two. Make it your own and enjoy! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This soup as written was pretty good. To get the lentils soft enough I needed 11-12 minutes in the pressure cooker. The second time I made it I omitted the barley, used a tin of mixed beans, and substituted kale (for spinach) and Rotel for the salsa. Both versions were tasty but, of course, I preferred the one with my modifications. That's what makes recipes so great, you can change to suit your tastes :) Thanks Julie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I loved this- I did not use a pressure cooker but cooked on the stove for a few hours and it was yummy!!! I used it as it except for the pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth Wellington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Bedford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Fantastic flavor and texture! My 5 year old even eats it! I wouldn't change a single thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Wanted to try new electric pressure cooker. Great dish. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Loved it! I did, however make some substitutions based on what I had in the kitchen. Instead of salsa I added a small can of diced tomatoes, and instead of the parsley and spinach I substituted chopped, deveined kale. I also omitted the chicken, and doubled the chicken stock. There was a lot of flavour from the italian sausage, and the soup was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was enjoyed by both my sand and my inlaws. (they seemed to enjoy it more the next day) only used one chicken sausage link and one bone-in chicken leg (on sale this week) and halved the rest of the recipe. Will def make this Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Hoffmann McNeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is so easy and tastes great. I made it without the chicken for my vegetarian daughter and just added extra seasonings and she loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States