Pressure Cooker Italian Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Made this for the first time exactly as directed. Everyone in the family loved it. It has its own little zing to it without adding any additional spice to it. Feel free to add to this as it is a great base recipe and it very tolerant to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Delicious and fast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenG219
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I first time I made this I did not use a pressure cooker. I use hot turkey sausage, 1/2 box frozen spinach and small white beans instead of garbanzos. The next time I used a pressure cooker. I also used three quarts of stock. The recipe makes quite a lot, so I gave it everyone. The raves keep coming in. Easy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Delicious! We are using an electronic p/c (T-Fal) and changed the following: We used Italian-style chicken & cheese sausage that had no casing, and just sliced it into bite-sized pieces. Everything was browned right in the p/c. We left it on the high setting for the 9 minute cook time. The amount of spinach was reduced to about 4-5 ounces. The chicken broth was low sodium commercial stuff that comes in a small carton. No seasoning was added, not even salt/pepper. The soup has a wonderful texture, with the lentils, barley, and the chickpeas all retaining some great "tooth." I hope it freezes well since we'll be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Great recipe. I substituted chicken wings and boneless thighs for the chicken breasts called for in the recipe. When the soup was done, I strained out the chicken, de-boned and de-skinned the wings, diced the meat and added it back to the soup. The wings were messy to clean but I wanted bones for stock. The thigh meat was perfect for the soup, less expensive and more flavorful then breasts. I also substituted cannellini beans for the chick peas and red beans for the barley, because it was what I had in the house, and 1/2 box of frozen spinach, instead of fresh. The end product was almost a chicken and sausage minestrone. I am serious, you can't believe how delicious this soup was! Also low-carb and gluten-free made this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was a great pressure cooker soup! I had dinner on the table with a hearty soup in no time at all. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Wonderful! The only change I made was to use 8 cups of stock and 5 sausage links (that's how many were in the package). I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Delicious. Used 2 chicken breasts and no sausage. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
omitted spinach and garabanzos, added extra stock, cooked on simmer/ stovetop 2 1/2 hrs. And love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I prepared this for my family and everyone loved it. I have a pressure cooker but didn't bother using it. This recipe can easily be done in a slow cooker. I just browned the chicken and sausage and then added all the ingredients to the slow cooker . . .Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkSalesMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States