Pressure Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This worked out beautifully. We used larger chunks so we could shred the meet after cooking as another review suggested. After we shredded the meat we broiled in the oven for 15 minutes turning the meat over ever 5 minutes and it turned out crispy and tasted great. I served with guacamole and fresh salsa with corn tortillas for a simple but delicious dinner. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is a home run even before you fry it up for carnitas or use it as a base for chile verde or add bbq sauce for pulled pork sandwiches. I have experimented with different cook times for different textures and have always been extremely pleased with the results. Be sure to add a bit of salt and pepper before cooking for maximum flavor. Thank you so much yellowpairs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe was incredible!!! This was my first try with a pressure cooker and the meat came out falling apart. The flavor was unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Fabulous! So much flavor! I rarely use my pressure cooker, so it was awesome finding such a gem of a recipe to help me be less intimidated by it! I cut my pork into larger pieces for easy shredding, but skipped the review suggestion of putting it back in the oven for browning. I only used one kind of pepper since big hatch chilies were on sale in my area. I didn't have any coriander, so I had to omit that. It was really great. There was so much leftover liquid. . . I plan to use it as a base for some chili, but it would also make such a great stew. I think next time I will purposefully add more broth/water so I will have even more leftover liquid for that purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made this tonight and my wife, and I, thoroughly enjoyed! Though there was no salt called for, I added 3/4 tsp, and still needed a bit more on the plate. Served with fresh chopped onion, avocado, and sour cream dollops, over rice, and was a very satisfied diner! Bravo to, "yellowpairs", thank you! PS, cooked in a Fagor pressure cooker, under high pressure, for 55 minutes. Used country style, bone in, pork ribs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Great recipe. Good flavor from the different peppers. Now to add heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I wish I had a good review to write. I must have done something wrong. I followed the recipe but mine came out very bland. Almost no flavor at all. It was very tender and shredded nicely , but was pretty boring. Maybe I'll try again. This was the first thing I made in my new pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinandemm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Freakin' delicious. My modification eliminated the jalapenos, but only because I had a few heat-sensitive guests tonight. In lieu of that, I added some chipotle powder and it was just perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I also did the baking dish in a hot oven until crispy on the outside trick. Also sprinkled brandy over the meat before putting it in the oven to crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These were very good, I pressure cooked them for 30 mins and they turned out great, I served them with corn tortillas and lettuce, sour cream and tomatoes, because it was all I had...I didn't have all the peppers it called for so I just used a serrano pepper that I had, bunch of onions, garlic and spices, it was tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria Ceballos Ellsworth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States