Pressure Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Not true Carnitas. This is more like a soup and when I removed 2+ cups of liquid it was more like a stew. It had nice spice but other than that it is horribly bland. I had to add tons of salt to the finished product. I imagine salting it up and frying it up afterwords would make it a truer Carnitas dish. I followed the recipe to the "T" but it needed lots of work after it was done to make it enjoyable. It was absolutely tender but true Carnitas are much larger "chunks" and you would pull it apart on your plate. I have NEVER had true Carnitas that were made with the chiles....those would be added later as a condiment. 2 stars because it WAS salvageable. All the 5 stars here probably have not ever had TRUE Carnitas. I won't be trying this recipe again. The picture IS NOT a true representation of the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
My family loved this. Made this a couple of weeks ago and going to make it again today. I used my electric pressure cooker , cooked it for 1 hr. a little to watery so today I'll only add half cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeeCee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
made it with pork shoulder cubes the first time, and it was AMAZING. I never have coriander, so I used the cumin, ancho chili powder, a LOT of garlic (probably 6 or 7 cloves), and a Mexican-mix spice I got from penzeys that's called "Arizona dreaming" about a tablespoon of each. Arizona dreaming is a blend of ancho, onion, paprika, garlic, lemon peel, chipotle pepper, cayenne, and cocoa. I did shred the pork after cooking and bake at 400 for 15 min. then put back in the cooker and stirred to blend. the second time I made with boneless skinless chicken breast cubes and used chicken broth instead of beef. cooked about 40 min. high pressure. Also delicious!! good on tortillas, over rice, or over salad greens with some crushed tortilla chips on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
looks like a good recipe, I will try it soon. BUT to lessen the "heat" remove the peppers white membranes because that is where the heat is, not in the seeds! so many recipes and chefs continue to say the heat is in the seeds :>(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Just finished making these and they are absolutely wonderful. I had never made carnitas before and just got a new fagor pressure cooker for Christmas this year...soooo this was the perfect first time recipe. DH loves Mexican food! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pundragon
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as is except I removed the seeds (that kept the complex flavor profile but reduced the heat a bit). It was delicious. It turned out tender and tasty and not greasy or mushy like a crock pot. I have made it in the oven before with mixed results. This is just so darned easy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Fast and easy and was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Used pork loin roast and it was still very tender. Tossed the pork cubes with ancho chili powder and smoked paprika before browning. Made this many times and it's always awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Tastes better when pan frying to get the crispiness after removing from the pressure cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
As I write I'm in the process of making this PC Carnitas. My adjustments, based on what is on hand are minimal. I'll make it per the recipe, but I seriously question matching the finished product with the leading photograph. No hunk of pork smaller than the size of a football is going to retain its shape after One Hour of cooking at pressure. I see a major disconnect here and I wonder if there are typos or perhaps the 'author' has never cooked it. At normal 15 PSI pressure cooking the directed 1.5" cubes of meat will turn to 'pulled pork about the 15-minute mark. I'd like to have pieces of meat, not strings. I cannot yet rate this, but I think the cooking time is a major overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States