Pressure Cooker Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
These carnitas were amazing... very authentic flavor. Made them for a large crowd and they were gone like that. I modified a bit. I left the pork in larger chunks so i could shred. Added sea salt and pepper. My family like spicy so I added a few extra peppers and when it was done in pressure cooker i shredded it and put it is a roasting pan in a 400 degree oven for 15 minutes to crisp it up a bit. Will definately make these again and again. Thanks so much for the fantastic recipe Korgilover!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsblmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was delicious! The meat was so moist and tender I couldn't take it out of the cooker with a fork. It was a bit spicy for my children, so next time I make it I will reduce the amount of chili used. I did what another reviewer recommended and shredded the meat (which took seconds as it was so tender), put it in a baking pan, and placed in a 400 degree oven for a few minutes to crisp it up a bit. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very good, easy to make and flavorful. I don't have a pressure cooker - so I seared the Pork loin before putting it in a crockpot, then added all the other ingredients...shredding as it cooked. I got a lot of compliments on how tasty the pork was - I hosted a Family Dinner, Mexican Style night and I got some of those just used to the usual "taco ground beef" to try the pork. They loved it! Great recipe, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Great Pressure cooker recipe. After it's done just stir with a spoon to shred the pork. Great for making enchilladas. There is plenty of liquid left over that would probably go good over mashed potatos. Need to strain it for tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LordGary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maryland Heights, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I only had pickled jalapenos so I added a 1/4 cup of them, 1 tsp cumin and 2 tsp coriander. Other than those changes I followed the recipe. Fantastic! I was worried it would be too spicy for my toddler, but he loved it. I served it over brown rice. Tonight I'll use the leftovers to make enchiladas. Thank you for a great pork recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Fabulously tender meat with a great flavor!! I cooked for an hour on low pressure in a Cuisinart electric pressure cooker and it turned out perfectly. We have so many plans for the left-overs. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I'm sure it's not proper or traditional, but I'm neither a carnitas aficionado nor a carnitas snob - I used what I had on hand in the freezer to make this - pork chop suey meat! And it was wonderful. I browned the meat as directed, then threw everything in the Crock Pot. Nice balance of flavors, the meat was soft and tender, and the bite-sized pieces were perfect for stuffing in tortillas with some pico de gallo. The only thing I found this was lacking was salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Robin Lee
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This has got to be the best thing I have ever cooked! Granted, I wasn't able to use a pressure cooker because the one I bought said not to use it on a smoothtop stove... but the meat was MELT IN YOUR MOUTH TENDER!!! This tasted like it came from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Great start - our family likes a little more spice, which is easy enough to alter. Very simple yet great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States