Pressure Cooker Beef Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
instead of the ancho chili powder, we used about 2 teaspoons of chipotle chili powder. I like it hot, but this was really pushing it. I also used a bit more than a pound of ground venison. I froze it, and then cut it into chunks and browned those. It came out in nice chunks. To make up for the less meat, I used some red kidney beans. Wife liked it, but it had some good heat! I'll cut back on the chili powder even more next time. Served with shredded cheddar and sour cream. It'll be nice reheated for lunch on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Boltik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Tried this recipie last night - First time using my Lagostina Pressure Cooker - turned out great, the whole family enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is a pretty easy and tasty chili to make. However, it was way too spicy. I'm going to scale back on the recommended amount of spice next time I prepare this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Great recipe, turned out a lot better than I expected for my first pressure cooker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Wonderful recipe.. a little dry, so added 1 14 ounce can of diced tomatoes... did not ruin the flavor... as I thought it was a little spicy for me... husband prefers the original... One of the best recipes ever... Going to try it at our next club campout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Thinking about trying this recipe, I don't have a pressure cooker, would on top the stove be okay?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krizia
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This recipe is a KEEPER!!! Thank you so much, Chef John. This has really hit the spot for my chili fix today. I made this earlier and it was perfect, so easy to make. I also made your recipe for Tzaziki sauce to go on top of it! By the way, I had to tweak the spice down because my dad can't handle hot food. If you can't handle those spicy chili powders that he adds, just use plain chili powder only. I also increased the cumin and oregano just a touch, to counteract the other missing chili powder flavors. I also used beef broth instead of the water as well. That was just my preference, is all. Enjoy guys, this is something you'll never regret making. People at my culinary school would love to eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krizia

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Really good. No mods to the recipe, but I would eaither add beans (cannellini or black) or Anaheim chilis next time. Need a bit more complexity in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I loved this chili and will use the recipe often. Hubby thought that it was too spicy for him but not for me. Really bold flavors and so easy to make. Thanks so much for this recipe. By the way I did add a can of beans because we do love beans in chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I recently purchased a WP electric pressure cooker & I'm having a great time with it. Made this & pretty much stuck to the recipe. Instead of water I added V8. No corn chips so I thickened it with instant potato flakes. I also added a can of drained & rinsed kidney beans. For leftovers I added a small amount of pasta for Chili mac. Chili is always a good comfort food. When grandkids are over I add canned or frozen corn. Depends on what"s on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States