Presidential Debate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Hubby gives this 5 stars, he went back for seconds - I give it 5 stars because it managed to keep his mouth busy instead of yapping throughout the debate. Thanks for a good recipe with a fun name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Kudos to the submitter(s), This Colorado Trio, for the catchy, fun and timely name they gave their chili. It’s an obvious attention grabber and it works. It’s so much more creative than the (yawn) “The Best Chili in the Whole Wide World,” or “Easy, Peasy, Chili.” And chili is certainly appropriate for a Presidential Debate to keep muss and fuss to a minimum. It was also interesting for me to try, since it was different than how I generally make it. Individual tastes vary, of course, but for me this was good, not great. First, in defense of the recipe, I couldn’t stay true as I was unable to find “ranch-style beans” so I improvised with suggestions I easily found on the internet. The can of diced green chilies was a new addition and while it contributed a flavor kick, I found it too BIG of a kick – I could see reducing that amount and maybe filling in with green bell peppers. The broth was different for me too, and I’m sort of indifferent about it. Where my taste buds had an issue was with the oregano –I don’t generally add that to chili and I guess I could like it- but two teaspoons was way overkill for me. Submitter is correct – this is an easy, basic chili recipe that can be modified with changes or substitutions or to include favorite add-ins. I appreciated the new and fun cooking experience, especially for tonight’s final and important Presidential Debate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Good basic chili, and that's pretty much how we like our chili. I did appreciate not having to use any packaged chili seasonings with all of the sugar and chemicals that comes with it. Not quite spicy enough for us though, so I added more chili powder and more cumin. Also, I could not find "ranch beans" (mentioned by a previous reviewer), so I used dark red kidney beans and one can was more than enough for this size recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Tristonomore
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Best chili I've ever had/made. Being a incredibly novice TEENAGE male cook, I was a little cautious about how something like chili would come out first time from scratch. A tradition in our family: chili on Halloween, so I wanted to make it from scratch. No flavors clash, and unlike Nana I actually used MORE oregano (I used ground, the ingredients didn't clarify which one to use) and it tasted just as well. One little flaw, and while it's not really anything bad, it's worth taking a note: the ingredients stick to the bare minimum. If you like something such as onion (like me!) you will want to add A LOT. I ended up adding about 35 oz of tomato and a whole onion half. Plus, the recipe is not too spicy, so that's somewhat good. Another note is that I replaced those nasty ranch beans with kidney and black beans and this was the final result. Pros: -Incredibly easy to make, just mix it all together. -SO GOOD. My whole family, plus two friends said it was 5 *s. -Time to make is great; once it's boiling it's done. The hour wait isn't really needed. -Pretty mild for little kids or non-fans of spice. -Simply a good looking meal. I'll be uploading a picture of mine. -I didn't add cheese, but I bet it would be great with it. Cons: -After waiting the hour, most of the liquid was gone. I suggest either add some water or don't boil for TOO long. -Wasn't too spicy, which I would've liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is a tasty, versatile basic chili. We invited friends to our home for lunch, and I fixed the chili as written. I set out bowls of add-ins so we could each tailor the chili to personal taste. This chili was a hit! All in all, this chili has the potential to "reach across the aisle"...folks who enjoy less spicy chili will be pleased and folks who like it spicier can kick it up as they choose. No debating the issue, this is one delicious chili! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
i have to say it was just down my alley. yum. i didn't think my hubby would like it b/c he likes spicy but he truly loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aj~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Presidential Debate Chili Haiku: "Love Ranch-style beans. (I think they made this chili.) Still would've been good." Followed the recipe exactly as written, elated that it called for Ranch-style beans that I keep stocked in my pantry as often as I can get my hands on them. I truly can't think of anything that I would've done to change this chili; it was just fantastic, although it was a touch mild for us, so after a squirt of Sriracha, we declared it a win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Just the right amount of spice for me, yet still good when my husband adds his super hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I don't usually try chili recipes but the whimsical name plus Ranch Style Beans (which I love) got me. I made some minor changes: I used Cento tomato puree ilo diced tomatoes, increased the chili powder to 1 Tbl, omitted the brown sugar and added 2 tsps Sambal Oelek for more heat. Followed the cooking instructions precisely. After adding the beans I wondered if I'd made a mistake trying this; the taste was a peculiar cross between chili and RS Beans. Oh well, I covered the pot and let it simmer one hour. Yippee Skippee, is this ever good! The flavor is so richly delicious that it's intense and the consistency is perfect. I ate it with saltines and cheese last night then made huevos rancheros with this as the topper for breakfast; another bowl with lettuce and cheese for lunch and I'm really looking forward to wrapping this in a tortilla for supper. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Winner Winner Chili Dinner!! We loved this as a family. Also made it for a large group of High School Seniors and they gave it rave reviews as well. Mildly spicy for large groups or if your family prefers a milder chili. Very good flavor with the ranch beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States