President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I was skeptical mostly due to my own lack of experience with eye of round but this was really great and I was pleasantly surprised!! All of eat was eaten and I will be making it again. I served it with sauerkraut and I thought it meshed pretty well but maybe that is my "unrefined" palette talking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for some cheap steaks I picked up, and found this one. I admit, the name caught my eye because I'm from Grand Rapids, same place President Ford grew up and was laid to rest. So I figured I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did! First of all, I love the prep - it's very simple. I could sprinkle the seasonings on the meat on the cutting board, and saved myself the hassle of having to dirty more dishes. I'm a huge fan of cooked onions, and found two onions to be perfectly appropriate. I did let them cook a bit longer than 5 minutes. I used Merlot in place of Burgundy, and 2 cubes beef boullion dissolved in 1 cup water in place of the consomme (because that's what I had on hand). Still close enough to the original. I also left them to simmer a bit longer than it stated, just because I knew my meat was pretty tough in the first place. I took the first bite and almost melted. The beef WAS fork-tender! Delicious flavor all the way through. I removed the meat and onions, and added some cornstarch that I'd whisked into cold water, brought the liquids back to a simmer, and ended up with DIVINE gravy. All in all, an excellent meal that brought back fond memories of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was very tender and flavorful. Five of my kids devoured it. I didn't have beef consume or red wine so I used water with about 3TBL worcestershire sauce and 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar. I let it simmer for 1.5 hours. I didn't want to "ruin" all the round steak that I got on a great sale today, so I hedged and only used enough for one meal. Too bad - would have loved to have enough for left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
DELICIOUS! Long slow simmering is key. Half way thru the simmering I added some quartered new potatoes and a splash more wine. What a wonderful gravy it made. I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was great - I made it for Father's Day dinner with homemade mashed potatoes, salad and Hawaiian sweet bread. My father-in-law said it was "sure good", and from him that's the best comment to get! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was delicious! I have never bought Eye Round Steak before and was looking for a good recipe to use, and this turned out great. My fiance and I both thought it was very good. The only change I made was to add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I added Can of Mushroom Soup instead of beed consomme or buillion. It made a thicker gravy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was awesome!! my son wanted it again the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
THANK YOU! This recipe is EASY & tastes great! My husband devoured it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksHarleyBrat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Added mushrooms & served with rice. Even the wine hating hubby ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States