President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for some cheap steaks I picked up, and found this one. I admit, the name caught my eye because I'm from Grand Rapids, same place President Ford grew up and was laid to rest. So I figured I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did! First of all, I love the prep - it's very simple. I could sprinkle the seasonings on the meat on the cutting board, and saved myself the hassle of having to dirty more dishes. I'm a huge fan of cooked onions, and found two onions to be perfectly appropriate. I did let them cook a bit longer than 5 minutes. I used Merlot in place of Burgundy, and 2 cubes beef boullion dissolved in 1 cup water in place of the consomme (because that's what I had on hand). Still close enough to the original. I also left them to simmer a bit longer than it stated, just because I knew my meat was pretty tough in the first place. I took the first bite and almost melted. The beef WAS fork-tender! Delicious flavor all the way through. I removed the meat and onions, and added some cornstarch that I'd whisked into cold water, brought the liquids back to a simmer, and ended up with DIVINE gravy. All in all, an excellent meal that brought back fond memories of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was very tender and flavorful. Five of my kids devoured it. I didn't have beef consume or red wine so I used water with about 3TBL worcestershire sauce and 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar. I let it simmer for 1.5 hours. I didn't want to "ruin" all the round steak that I got on a great sale today, so I hedged and only used enough for one meal. Too bad - would have loved to have enough for left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
DELICIOUS! Long slow simmering is key. Half way thru the simmering I added some quartered new potatoes and a splash more wine. What a wonderful gravy it made. I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is a great recipe that uses a very under-appreciated, lean, affordable cut of beef. Those of you who used bullion instead of consume and then complained that the recipe was too salty, please beat yourselves with a trivet. In fact, anyone who uses something other than the ingredients listed by a recipe and then gives a negative review, please know that your review is not very useful. This is a great recipe. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
As the recipe states,this meat WAS fork tender,and I would make it again,but I didn't have any beef consomme so I used beef bouillon instead,and added a little worchester to the wine sauce. It was VERY VERY salty,so in the future I would completely cut out the season salt,and just stick with pepper and maybe a few shakes of garlic powder to give it a little kick of flavor. The end result was very tender and the sauce was good,just too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Rather than a dutch oven, I did this in my electric skillet on the counter. I added some ground pepper and a couple tablespoons of worchestershire sauce. It was delicious. The gravy was wonderfull. I may have cooked it a little to high as the meat was a tat dry, nect time I will cook it a bit lower. We served it over egg noodles the first night and my hubby raved aboout the sauce. We had it over mashed potatoes the second night and it was just a s good. Don't waste your money on expensive burgandy. I used the P. Mason jug wine and it was great--even for my husband the wine snob. Be sure to use Consumme and NOT Boullion. Will use this again for another cut of meat or maybe a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Very good, the sauce was thin though... adding a roux next time along with some mushrooms... now that will be good. Great flavor and made the house smell great... I cooked for 2hrs at a low simmer and served with green beans and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was very yummy and simple which is nice for an easy week night dinner. I only had 1/2 an onion in the fridge so added 1 1/2 C. fresh sliced mushrooms )so it wouldn't lack substance with so little onion)and it was great! It did take an extra 20-30 minutes of simmering to become tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I adjusted the recipe to make four servings since it is just me and my boyfriend. I also didn't have beef consomme on hand, or beef bullion so I used worcestershire sauce mixed with an australian shiraz. It was really good. My gravy got super thick and the boyfriend didn't add salt. He liked it and when you live with a man that raises beef for a living that's saying something. I think next time though, I'd make more sauce. The adjusted recipe called for 2/3 cup of wine and I ended up adding at least a cup of wine. I was also short thyme so I used basil instead. It was really very good. It'll definitely go on the menu again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZELLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Eagle Butte, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Both my daughter and I felt the braising liquid was thin-flavored and missing something. I added some Worchestershire sauce, minced garlic, salt and a bit more thyme to the sauce, and that seemed to perk it up. This was okay, really just mediocre. We ate it, but no one was wowed. I don't think I'll be making it again. Sorry, but thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States