President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My husband loved it. Though, he thought there were too much onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for some cheap steaks I picked up, and found this one. I admit, the name caught my eye because I'm from Grand Rapids, same place President Ford grew up and was laid to rest. So I figured I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did! First of all, I love the prep - it's very simple. I could sprinkle the seasonings on the meat on the cutting board, and saved myself the hassle of having to dirty more dishes. I'm a huge fan of cooked onions, and found two onions to be perfectly appropriate. I did let them cook a bit longer than 5 minutes. I used Merlot in place of Burgundy, and 2 cubes beef boullion dissolved in 1 cup water in place of the consomme (because that's what I had on hand). Still close enough to the original. I also left them to simmer a bit longer than it stated, just because I knew my meat was pretty tough in the first place. I took the first bite and almost melted. The beef WAS fork-tender! Delicious flavor all the way through. I removed the meat and onions, and added some cornstarch that I'd whisked into cold water, brought the liquids back to a simmer, and ended up with DIVINE gravy. All in all, an excellent meal that brought back fond memories of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanne Tastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was very yummy and simple which is nice for an easy week night dinner. I only had 1/2 an onion in the fridge so added 1 1/2 C. fresh sliced mushrooms )so it wouldn't lack substance with so little onion)and it was great! It did take an extra 20-30 minutes of simmering to become tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Both my daughter and I felt the braising liquid was thin-flavored and missing something. I added some Worchestershire sauce, minced garlic, salt and a bit more thyme to the sauce, and that seemed to perk it up. This was okay, really just mediocre. We ate it, but no one was wowed. I don't think I'll be making it again. Sorry, but thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
As the recipe states,this meat WAS fork tender,and I would make it again,but I didn't have any beef consomme so I used beef bouillon instead,and added a little worchester to the wine sauce. It was VERY VERY salty,so in the future I would completely cut out the season salt,and just stick with pepper and maybe a few shakes of garlic powder to give it a little kick of flavor. The end result was very tender and the sauce was good,just too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was very tender and flavorful. Five of my kids devoured it. I didn't have beef consume or red wine so I used water with about 3TBL worcestershire sauce and 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar. I let it simmer for 1.5 hours. I didn't want to "ruin" all the round steak that I got on a great sale today, so I hedged and only used enough for one meal. Too bad - would have loved to have enough for left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
DELICIOUS! Long slow simmering is key. Half way thru the simmering I added some quartered new potatoes and a splash more wine. What a wonderful gravy it made. I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I didn't care for this at all. It seemed to have more of a livery taste. It was very tender but most of my liquid evaporated away, which I can't figure out because I followed the directions to a T. Giving it 2 stars because my children and husband thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Rather than a dutch oven, I did this in my electric skillet on the counter. I added some ground pepper and a couple tablespoons of worchestershire sauce. It was delicious. The gravy was wonderfull. I may have cooked it a little to high as the meat was a tat dry, nect time I will cook it a bit lower. We served it over egg noodles the first night and my hubby raved aboout the sauce. We had it over mashed potatoes the second night and it was just a s good. Don't waste your money on expensive burgandy. I used the P. Mason jug wine and it was great--even for my husband the wine snob. Be sure to use Consumme and NOT Boullion. Will use this again for another cut of meat or maybe a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
husband and i liked the flavor of the sauce, but (due to my own meat-cooking inabilities) the steaks were much too dry/over-cooked- even though I followed the recipe exactly. will try again, though, just barely cooking on each side before the simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States