President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Yummy and good comfort food. My family gobbled it up and requested that I make this often. It may not be a gourmet meal, but it is a crowd-pleaser. I served it with fresh mashed potatoes and steamed carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Just OK. The flavor was good but the steaks were tough and dry. I followed the recipe exactly, but they were no where near 'fork tender'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
The sauce was extremely good. I used eye of round steaks and even though I simmered them for two hours I still found the meat dry. Will absolutely use the sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was very very tasty. Thank you for sharing this with the Allrecipes community! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook87

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sullivan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Im giving this 4 out of 5 stars for my husband who loved it. I personally don't like round eyes that much, and so I can't be the best judge. Instead of beef consomme I used beef broth and it was just fine. I also added some lemon pepper also because we love it, and it added a little extra omph to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This is so simple and sooo good ! Simmer for 1.5 hr and you cant go wrong. I added fresh from my garden green bell peppers... This is a very flexable dish that you will want to play with a bit. Enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I found this to be really delicious. Thanks for posting! I noticed one user used tenderloin and it came out tough. Tenderloin needs to be cooked using dry heat (grilled, broiled). This recipe uses a moist heat cooking method because Eye of Round is a tougher piece of meat so here it is braised. Delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Loved this recipe. I have to give 4 stars because I used an eye round roast and browned in a cast iron skillet with oil and I stuck garlic cloves into the roast. Once browned I added sliced onions and spices with the wine & broth and put in the oven at 325 for 1 1/2 hours. It came out so good. Strained the juice and made a wonderful gravy with some flour and gravy master.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Mine turned out a little tougher than it was supposed to. I know that I didnt coopk it too high so maybe it just had to cook longer. I used tenderloin steaks, not sure if that makes too much of a difference though. I gave it 3 stars though because even though it was a little dry it still tasted really good. My husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Very Good Recipe, however, I would hold off on serving it to the boss! Made it to the "T" of what the recipe called for. However, it was still lacking something....and I did cut ALL THE FAT AWAY from the beef..."OH YES"...that lacking problem is called the next days leftovers! OMG...delicious!! Try it for yourselves....but I am betting the late President Ford was led to believe it was being prepared fresh! Will definately make this again with the belief of re-heating it on low, with a lid on the skillet, and serving it a day late!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States