President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe.Slow cook at least 2HRS for 1/2" steaks.I added a 1/2C extra of wine and beef broth and used Bourgogne Pinot Noir instead of Burgandy and added a pinch of brown sugar to the onions.The little bit of sweetener was key to this recipe.I added onion powder and approx 1/4tsp Worchester and black pepper.I let the steaks sit in the broth for 20min before serving to rehydrate the meat.This dish is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
decent, but not great. I scaled down recipe for 2. added a can of mushrooms during last 20 min of simmer and simmered for 1-1/2 hours. 1 hour was not tender enough for my thick cut. i served with crussty french bread to soak up gravy, nice. all in all an ok dish, may make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF CLAY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Linville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very Yummy! Easy to prepare! The only thing I did differently was to throw in about a cup of shredded carrots, give or take, in with the onion. I don't know that it added any more flavor, but it was another veggie. I also added quartered potatoes and a little extra fluid about half way through the cooking. That plus a green veggie and you are good to go with a great tasting dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Always turns out fork tender and excellent. Love serving with buttered noodles. Delicious wonderful recipe for a cheap cut of meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was very good. The meat wasn't as tender as I'd hoped, even after simmering longer than the recipe required, but that was probably just the meat, not the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Yummy and good comfort food. My family gobbled it up and requested that I make this often. It may not be a gourmet meal, but it is a crowd-pleaser. I served it with fresh mashed potatoes and steamed carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Just OK. The flavor was good but the steaks were tough and dry. I followed the recipe exactly, but they were no where near 'fork tender'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
The sauce was extremely good. I used eye of round steaks and even though I simmered them for two hours I still found the meat dry. Will absolutely use the sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was very very tasty. Thank you for sharing this with the Allrecipes community! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook87

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sullivan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Im giving this 4 out of 5 stars for my husband who loved it. I personally don't like round eyes that much, and so I can't be the best judge. Instead of beef consomme I used beef broth and it was just fine. I also added some lemon pepper also because we love it, and it added a little extra omph to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States