President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Excellant with shiraz. No thyme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Followed exactly except let it simmer 2hrs and could cut the meat with my fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Excellent! This is an easy and hearty dish. I added some whole peeled garlic cloves to the sauce and I let the whole dish simmer slowly for almost 2 hours. We like it served over rice or mashed potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Great recipe, used beef bouillon instead of consume and added mushrooms to the sauce, my only caution would be to sear the steaks for only a minute or two rather than 5 minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nufced

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
this was AMAZING!!! im on south beach diet so i switched some stuff around alittle ... i browned the steaks first without the flour ofcourse... and instead of thyme i used fresh oregano..and instead of the burgundy i used half a cup of balsamic vinegar and a half a cup of merlot...and i didnt have any consomme on hand so i used 2 chicken boullins disolved in a cup of water.. cooked it for the full hour and lemme tell u, these steaks were friggin fabulous!! definetly gonna make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyCrackYa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is a great recipe that uses a very under-appreciated, lean, affordable cut of beef. Those of you who used bullion instead of consume and then complained that the recipe was too salty, please beat yourselves with a trivet. In fact, anyone who uses something other than the ingredients listed by a recipe and then gives a negative review, please know that your review is not very useful. This is a great recipe. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Made it last night and it came out perfect! I did use a sweet red wine (2/3 cup) and cooked it for an hour and a half as suggested. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I don't eat beef but made this for my son and husband. It was so easy and so delicious I actually had a small piece (which never happens). I wanted to used items I had in my kitchen therefore used Merlot in place of Burgundy wine, and 2 cubes of beef boullion dissolved in 1 cup water in place of the consomme. As well I didn't have it simmer for an hour but did add the lid to the pan and simmer for approx. half an hour on med to low heat. I would make this again anytime. Little mess and lots of flavour...Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was a big disappointment after reading all the good reviews. I followed the recipe exactly and the end product had minimal flavor and was dried out. The only thing good was that it was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States