President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Excellent! This is an easy and hearty dish. I added some whole peeled garlic cloves to the sauce and I let the whole dish simmer slowly for almost 2 hours. We like it served over rice or mashed potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanHissam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Great recipe, used beef bouillon instead of consume and added mushrooms to the sauce, my only caution would be to sear the steaks for only a minute or two rather than 5 minutes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nufced

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
this was AMAZING!!! im on south beach diet so i switched some stuff around alittle ... i browned the steaks first without the flour ofcourse... and instead of thyme i used fresh oregano..and instead of the burgundy i used half a cup of balsamic vinegar and a half a cup of merlot...and i didnt have any consomme on hand so i used 2 chicken boullins disolved in a cup of water.. cooked it for the full hour and lemme tell u, these steaks were friggin fabulous!! definetly gonna make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyCrackYa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is a great recipe that uses a very under-appreciated, lean, affordable cut of beef. Those of you who used bullion instead of consume and then complained that the recipe was too salty, please beat yourselves with a trivet. In fact, anyone who uses something other than the ingredients listed by a recipe and then gives a negative review, please know that your review is not very useful. This is a great recipe. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Made it last night and it came out perfect! I did use a sweet red wine (2/3 cup) and cooked it for an hour and a half as suggested. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I don't eat beef but made this for my son and husband. It was so easy and so delicious I actually had a small piece (which never happens). I wanted to used items I had in my kitchen therefore used Merlot in place of Burgundy wine, and 2 cubes of beef boullion dissolved in 1 cup water in place of the consomme. As well I didn't have it simmer for an hour but did add the lid to the pan and simmer for approx. half an hour on med to low heat. I would make this again anytime. Little mess and lots of flavour...Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was a big disappointment after reading all the good reviews. I followed the recipe exactly and the end product had minimal flavor and was dried out. The only thing good was that it was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I thought this recipe was great. I simmered my steaks for probably closer to two hours due to the thickness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Tried this last night but must not have waited long enough for the "simmering action" to kick in. The flavor though was nice and we enjoyed the tendering of the meat (wow, those cuts r tough). This one will be on to perfect over time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONPROSSER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States