President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was a big disappointment after reading all the good reviews. I followed the recipe exactly and the end product had minimal flavor and was dried out. The only thing good was that it was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I thought this recipe was great. I simmered my steaks for probably closer to two hours due to the thickness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Tried this last night but must not have waited long enough for the "simmering action" to kick in. The flavor though was nice and we enjoyed the tendering of the meat (wow, those cuts r tough). This one will be on to perfect over time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONPROSSER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious. I also substituted worcestershire instead of the consomme. I braised for an hour but next time will probably let it go a bit longer at an even lower temperature. (I had it on the second-lowest temp stovetop but will do lowest temp next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This wasn't very good. Very blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I make this all the time. It's so worth the time it takes to cook. Try adding mushrooms with the onions, slice the meat thinly and wrap in tortillas with some mozz and roasted zucchini. Or add a little plain Greek yogurt at the end. It's amazing. If you need a thicker sauce at the end, just add 1 tbsp flour mixed with 2 tbsp water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladychroe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
vey good but i used beef broth and no wine and simmered for a hour in a half! Made Mash potatoes with it! Will be made a lot more often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cass City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Was tender, but nopt very flavorful. have discovered I don't care for Thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Very tasty and also very tender! I followed recipe and added rosemary while simmering. I also added mushrooms during the last half hour of cooking. Made a wonderful gravy that was perfect over meat & mashed potatoes! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
GREAT - VERY FLAVORFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States