President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I've never given a poor review before, but this recipe seems so popular, I'd like to know what I did wrong. I cooked the steak exactly according to the directions, and the result was meat that was not only not fork tender; I could barely cut it with a steak knife. What happened? The reason I am giving it 2 stars instead of 1 is that the gravy is fantastic. I'm going to freeze and save it for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This recipe is absolutely awful. My boyfriend (who is not a reviewer, so I'll share his opinion for him) described it as "disgusting" and wouldn't eat a second hite. We both felt that the sauce was somehow to blame. The flavor was ... musty. It tasted like something old, something that would be served in Oliver Twist's nursing home. We followed the recipe exactly. I blame President Ford.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Been making this for years. It's delicious and simple. Usually pair it with fake mashed potatoes made from cauliflower and some burnt broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
it is great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Pangman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
The recipe was spot on and I even allowed my meat to reduce in a beef broth letting the flavor of the onions and green peppers I added in there some time to cook down and add a great flavor to the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
SO GOOD! Tender and delicious - the next time I make this, I'll make mashed potatoes to go with it and thicken the cooking liquid into a gravy for them. It was so tasty that it was a shame to dump it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This required way more than 90 minutes to prepare and cook. I braised mine on the lowest setting on my stove for 90 minutes and it was still dry and tough. I used Superior Touch Better Than Bouillon Beef Base for the beef broth and a nice red wine. Based on previous reviews I didn't use season salt I opted for sea salt, black pepper, garlic power, thyme, rubbed sage and added cup of sliced mushrooms. The dish was not that flavorful. I wont be spending 2+ hours on this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I think you need to uncover at least 10 minutes before it's done to give the sauce some time to reduce. Easy recipe, I like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I liked it, but it took almost 2 hours of cooking for the beef to be fork tender. The flavor was amazing. The only change I made was to add some chopped garlic to the sauteed onions and to add fresh thyme to the cooking liquid. I used 1/2 inch eye of round steaks, and the recipe did not specify the steak thickness, so it is possible that the author of this recipe used steaks that were less than a half inch thick. I'll make it again allowing for the extra cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was fantastic. I made it exactly as written except that I did not have consomme so I used one beef boullion with one cup of water. I let it simmer for 2 hours and it was fork tender!! Super flavorful because of the onions and burgundy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States