President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for some cheap steaks I picked up, and found this one. I admit, the name caught my eye because I'm from Grand Rapids, same place President Ford grew up and was laid to rest. So I figured I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did! First of all, I love the prep - it's very simple. I could sprinkle the seasonings on the meat on the cutting board, and saved myself the hassle of having to dirty more dishes. I'm a huge fan of cooked onions, and found two onions to be perfectly appropriate. I did let them cook a bit longer than 5 minutes. I used Merlot in place of Burgundy, and 2 cubes beef boullion dissolved in 1 cup water in place of the consomme (because that's what I had on hand). Still close enough to the original. I also left them to simmer a bit longer than it stated, just because I knew my meat was pretty tough in the first place. I took the first bite and almost melted. The beef WAS fork-tender! Delicious flavor all the way through. I removed the meat and onions, and added some cornstarch that I'd whisked into cold water, brought the liquids back to a simmer, and ended up with DIVINE gravy. All in all, an excellent meal that brought back fond memories of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
356 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanne Tastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This was very tender and flavorful. Five of my kids devoured it. I didn't have beef consume or red wine so I used water with about 3TBL worcestershire sauce and 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar. I let it simmer for 1.5 hours. I didn't want to "ruin" all the round steak that I got on a great sale today, so I hedged and only used enough for one meal. Too bad - would have loved to have enough for left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I was skeptical mostly due to my own lack of experience with eye of round but this was really great and I was pleasantly surprised!! All of eat was eaten and I will be making it again. I served it with sauerkraut and I thought it meshed pretty well but maybe that is my "unrefined" palette talking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
THANK YOU! This recipe is EASY & tastes great! My husband devoured it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksHarleyBrat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
DELICIOUS! Long slow simmering is key. Half way thru the simmering I added some quartered new potatoes and a splash more wine. What a wonderful gravy it made. I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was great - I made it for Father's Day dinner with homemade mashed potatoes, salad and Hawaiian sweet bread. My father-in-law said it was "sure good", and from him that's the best comment to get! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was delicious! I have never bought Eye Round Steak before and was looking for a good recipe to use, and this turned out great. My fiance and I both thought it was very good. The only change I made was to add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I added Can of Mushroom Soup instead of beed consomme or buillion. It made a thicker gravy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was awesome!! my son wanted it again the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Added mushrooms & served with rice. Even the wine hating hubby ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States