President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
good flavor, turned out a little dry which toughened the meat. Will make again, but cook less time. Otherwise would have given 5 stars. Subbed a cabernet for the burgundy and beef broth for consume as that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
The flavor was great and my whole family really enjoyed it. I served it with vegetable couscous and the pairing was great. Unfortunately, the beef was not particularly tender when finished. I'm not sure if this was just the cut of meat or if there was something additional I could have done. I followed the written recipe to a "T."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very good, and easy. I didn't have dried thyme so I used fresh. I also added mushrooms to the sauce, just a bit of corn starch and it was a delish gravy!!! I served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very good, simple and delicious. Be sure to simmer it low and for a long time or it might end up tough....mine was O.K...but could have been more tender if I had let it go longer than the recipe instructs. I am thinking about trying it in the crockpot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very good! I left out the thyme, used merlot instead of burgandy, used regular salt instead of seasoned salt and added mushrooms. I served over egg noodles and it was absolutely fork tender! Thank you for a recipe that I will positively use again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
good sauce but the meat was a little dry(don't know how that could happen when it is cooked in liquid, but then again i have been known to mess up simple recipes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Not bad, but the flavor was too beef stew-y for me. Is was kind of weird paired with the large pieces of steak. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Fabulous recipe! Round eye was so tender, my husband and I felt like we were eating a restaurant quality meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Very tasty recipe, but depending on the thickness of your steak, it may have to cook longer. I cooked it for 1.5 hr & everyone said it was very tender. I also added about 1C of beef broth to the wine, for more liquid, esp since it cooks so long. Added some garlic w/the onions also. I'd make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
this was quite tasty, but it does need to simmer a bit longer, and my family are not big meat-eaters, so it's unlikely I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadyelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States