President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Read reviews about too salty so I used less salt, and then ended up adding a lot of salt when eating. I used cornstarch to thicken the gravy and served with mashed potatoes. Went out and bought Red Wine and cooked for 1hr 45min. The steak was somewhat fork tender but a little dry. For the added time and cost of buying wine and the cooking time of almost 2hrs, I don't plan on making this again. The gravy was not amazing just regular. The steak was the same, regular. Needs more spices. Maybe I will try it again and spice it up...Will post if I do ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmL
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was sooo easy and so delicious! I too added quartered red potatoes in for the simmer and the end result was so good even my two young boys ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Pretty tasty! Used white wine and beef broth, it was fine. I agree that the seasoning salt is too salty. I'd either use low sodium kind or sub with your own seasoning blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I found some Eye of Round steaks on sale and could not pass them up. They were so cheap! I have never cooked them before and came here looking for a recipe and happened upon this one! I had to use what I had on hand which means I had to replace the consumee with beef stock and Cabernet Sauvignon instead of Burgandy. I also adjusted the recipe for 2 people as I did not have but 3 steaks. It was so simple to prepare and to cook, and yet it tasted better than what you get at a resturant! What a wonderful budget friendly meal this was! I would not hesitate to serve it to company! Thank you so much for posting this. I will be cooking this on a regular rotation for us! Oh, and I did add a small can of mushrooms towards the end of the cooking time per other suggestions. Again, it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Yum. Easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I used beef broth instead of consomme and used shiraz instead of burgundy, and on the advice of others added a tbsp of worcestershire. It was very tender, but not a lot of flavor. Maybe this cut of beef has to be cooked forever to be edible, but I prefer my beef to be much less well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made this for my three sons and they all liked it. A good recipe for cheap steaks. Definitely simmer on low for an hour or more. The gravy was delicious served over mashed potatoes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Made this for the 2nd time tonight. It got great reviews. I was very happy. I cooked it very slow after the wine smell went away, because kids were late from practice. I think the meat was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Schook
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I was disappointed in the meat. It was hard and unpleasant. The sauce was wonderful though. I used beef broth as I do not like consomme and Cabernet. The onions though were waaaaaaaay too much! Next time I will cut HUGE rings to remove easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
good flavor, turned out a little dry which toughened the meat. Will make again, but cook less time. Otherwise would have given 5 stars. Subbed a cabernet for the burgundy and beef broth for consume as that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States