President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a great with just a little tweaking. I added some shallots with the onoins, the wocester sauce and a balsamic vinegar. I also added 4 sliced portabello mushrooms just before simmering. I simmered for 1hr and 15 mins, removed the meat and covered with tin foil to keep the juices in. I then used a littel corn start in cold water to make a gravy with the onion, mushroom juices and it was amazing. I served with butter egg noodles and fresh green beans. i will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was surprisingly good. The steak did get very tender. Not my thing, but tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I grew up eating this and make it for my own family now. My gravy turns out perfect every time. However, I don't use wine or consomme. I use plain old beef broth. Also, I season the flour I'm using to dredge the steaks with thyme, garlic and onion powder rather than season the steak. However I do lightly season steak with kosher salt and pepper before coating in the flour. (Kosher salt is a lot milder and won't overkill the gravy) Once steak is done take it out of the pan strain the fat out and put it back on the stove medium-low heat until it bubbles. Slowly stir in a mixture of 2 tsp flour to 1/3 cup cold water. Stir into gravy mix until thickened. Great over mashed potatos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I wonder how much better our country would be if president ford had a filet...steak was tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I use more beef consume because my dh isn't such a big red-wine fan, but this recipe comes out great every time no matter what. (I also throw in some garlic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I followed the instructions without reading some of the reviews first, and sure enough, it was a bit too salty for my taste, so I quickly peeled and cut about six potatoes and threw in one bag of baby carrots to help absorb some of the saltiness. I also added one tablespoon of Lea and Perrins and a teaspoon of minced garlic as suggested and another cup of water to cover the meat and vegetables. I will probably make this again, it sure smells delicious while cooking and there will be plenty of leftovers. Next time I will just skip the seasoning salt and just use pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
A delicious, easy, go-to meal as is. When simmered long enough (which for me, was nearly 2 hours) these steaks become fork tender. I use a GIGANTIC skillet and double the liquids for extra extra gravy because it is very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrideToBe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Tried to doctor this one up after tasting it but it was helpless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was great. My husband loved it and usually doesn't comment unless I ask him. He raved about it. I will be making this again. I did add red potatoes into the pan approx 30 min, They were great and the gravy had a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe.Slow cook at least 2HRS for 1/2" steaks.I added a 1/2C extra of wine and beef broth and used Bourgogne Pinot Noir instead of Burgandy and added a pinch of brown sugar to the onions.The little bit of sweetener was key to this recipe.I added onion powder and approx 1/4tsp Worchester and black pepper.I let the steaks sit in the broth for 20min before serving to rehydrate the meat.This dish is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States