President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was awesome. I was looking for a recipe for some round steaks I'd thawed out mistakenly indstad of rib-eye. Yummy meal. I did my own seasoning and skipped the wine, it was just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Kirkman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was okay. The flour coating came off in the sauce while simmering. I also did not have Burgundy wine or consomme and used the red wine I had and bullion/water. I simmered the beef for an hour, but it could have gone for longer. It was nice to have something a little different. I may try this again using the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Sorry just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My family really liked this and it was very easy to make. I simmered it for longer than the recipe suggested, at least 1 1/2 hours and most of it was tender. Used a slurry of cornstarch and water to thicken the pan drippings, which was great. Served with mashed potatoes and baby carots. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a great with just a little tweaking. I added some shallots with the onoins, the wocester sauce and a balsamic vinegar. I also added 4 sliced portabello mushrooms just before simmering. I simmered for 1hr and 15 mins, removed the meat and covered with tin foil to keep the juices in. I then used a littel corn start in cold water to make a gravy with the onion, mushroom juices and it was amazing. I served with butter egg noodles and fresh green beans. i will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was surprisingly good. The steak did get very tender. Not my thing, but tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I grew up eating this and make it for my own family now. My gravy turns out perfect every time. However, I don't use wine or consomme. I use plain old beef broth. Also, I season the flour I'm using to dredge the steaks with thyme, garlic and onion powder rather than season the steak. However I do lightly season steak with kosher salt and pepper before coating in the flour. (Kosher salt is a lot milder and won't overkill the gravy) Once steak is done take it out of the pan strain the fat out and put it back on the stove medium-low heat until it bubbles. Slowly stir in a mixture of 2 tsp flour to 1/3 cup cold water. Stir into gravy mix until thickened. Great over mashed potatos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I wonder how much better our country would be if president ford had a filet...steak was tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I use more beef consume because my dh isn't such a big red-wine fan, but this recipe comes out great every time no matter what. (I also throw in some garlic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I followed the instructions without reading some of the reviews first, and sure enough, it was a bit too salty for my taste, so I quickly peeled and cut about six potatoes and threw in one bag of baby carrots to help absorb some of the saltiness. I also added one tablespoon of Lea and Perrins and a teaspoon of minced garlic as suggested and another cup of water to cover the meat and vegetables. I will probably make this again, it sure smells delicious while cooking and there will be plenty of leftovers. Next time I will just skip the seasoning salt and just use pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States