President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
GREAT - VERY FLAVORFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!!! I cooked it in my french oven since I only made 3 steaks for myself and my husband. I didn't have beef consomme or wine so I used about 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar and 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce with about 3/4 cup of water. I let it cook for about an hour and then chopped up up some potatoes and dumped in baby carrots and added enough water to cover everything... I added about 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar and 2 TB of Worcestershire sauce more, also. My husband raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tothetelly
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Absolutely delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tothetelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was awesome. I was looking for a recipe for some round steaks I'd thawed out mistakenly indstad of rib-eye. Yummy meal. I did my own seasoning and skipped the wine, it was just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Kirkman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was okay. The flour coating came off in the sauce while simmering. I also did not have Burgundy wine or consomme and used the red wine I had and bullion/water. I simmered the beef for an hour, but it could have gone for longer. It was nice to have something a little different. I may try this again using the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Sorry just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
My family really liked this and it was very easy to make. I simmered it for longer than the recipe suggested, at least 1 1/2 hours and most of it was tender. Used a slurry of cornstarch and water to thicken the pan drippings, which was great. Served with mashed potatoes and baby carots. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a great with just a little tweaking. I added some shallots with the onoins, the wocester sauce and a balsamic vinegar. I also added 4 sliced portabello mushrooms just before simmering. I simmered for 1hr and 15 mins, removed the meat and covered with tin foil to keep the juices in. I then used a littel corn start in cold water to make a gravy with the onion, mushroom juices and it was amazing. I served with butter egg noodles and fresh green beans. i will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was surprisingly good. The steak did get very tender. Not my thing, but tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I grew up eating this and make it for my own family now. My gravy turns out perfect every time. However, I don't use wine or consomme. I use plain old beef broth. Also, I season the flour I'm using to dredge the steaks with thyme, garlic and onion powder rather than season the steak. However I do lightly season steak with kosher salt and pepper before coating in the flour. (Kosher salt is a lot milder and won't overkill the gravy) Once steak is done take it out of the pan strain the fat out and put it back on the stove medium-low heat until it bubbles. Slowly stir in a mixture of 2 tsp flour to 1/3 cup cold water. Stir into gravy mix until thickened. Great over mashed potatos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States