President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
It was good and tender for a cheap meat. But the sauce was thin next time will add cornstarch to thicken and maybe some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chariot

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was really tasty, and I've never had more tender eye of round steak! I increased the sauce and thickened it into a gravy with a flour/water slurry at the end. It was awesome over mashed potatoes! I had a little left-over and ended up making a "goulash" with that and some odds and ends I needed to use up. I added a packet of beef gravy mix and 1/2 block of cream cheese to the leftover gravy, chopped the leftover steaks, and served it all over egg noodles. That was way taster than it may sound; my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My man and I loved this! I don't cook steak or even eat steak because it's always so tough, but I bought the eye of round hoping that I could make it edible for my meat-and-potatoes man. I have never seen steak simmered before and wow, I'm going to do this a lot now. It was so easy and the sauce was fantastic. I took the advice of others and eliminated the seasoned salt and added garlic powder in its place; the wine and beef broth added just enough salt. Next time I will make the sauce thicker by adding in some corn starch, and I'll probably simmer it longer than 1 hour (I think 1.5 hours would make it perfect). Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This gives a great taste to the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canyon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is one of my husbands favorite dishes! Whether I make it served over Kluski noodles or as another suggested putting in red potatoes durning mid cooking.Great both ways. I also add some worchestershire sauce & garlic too. If you want it with a thicker gravy add some roue when its almost done cooking. Super dish! Thanks to all for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made some seasoning adjustments after reading comments section. I added tarrogon and a little more fat for the sauce. I did cook for 1.5 hours and it was not long enough. I think using a dutch oven, slow cooker or clay baker would improve the outcome. Lots of potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelliB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this tonight in my new Dutch Oven. First off I deviated a tad from the recipe and I'm not sure the total cooking time so this might not be helpful to anyone. I sweated half of a yellow onion and 1 white onion with a clove of garlic. I only had a 2 pack of round eye steaks but I seasoned them with dried italian herbs and then rubbed some flour on them because I was running out of flour. The broth mixture was my favorite. I used 2 teaspoons bouillon in 1 cup of water, 1/2 cup red cooking wine, some balsamic vinegar, and 1/2 cup water. I think I cooked this about 1 hr and 20 minutes or so. I did sprinkle the meat with some tenderizer but my steaks were not fall apart tender. About 20 minutes before I added a can of mushrooms and then about 10 minutes before I added a handful of well rinsed capers. When I took the meat out, the broth smelled so good that I wanted it to thicken more. So I added 1 cup of cornstarch slurry and about a tablespoon of brown gravy mix. After dinner I made me some rice and poured a bunch of the broth over it. It was the best! Next time I think I will throw this in the slow cooker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was excellent - a poor man's beef bourgignon... next time I might add some mushrooms. I don't know why other readers say that their meat was dried out - perhaps they used too wide a pot. In a 10-inch diameter Dutch oven or cast iron pot the liquid is more than enough to keep the meat submerged and, therefore, moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Excellant with shiraz. No thyme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Followed exactly except let it simmer 2hrs and could cut the meat with my fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States