President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was fantastic. I made it exactly as written except that I did not have consomme so I used one beef boullion with one cup of water. I let it simmer for 2 hours and it was fork tender!! Super flavorful because of the onions and burgundy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was a quick and easy recipe to put together. Slow cooking is the key. I cooked mine for 2 1/2hours at 350 and checked approx halfway through for dryness. If too dry was going to add some water but it was unnecessary. My braised steaks turned out tender and very flavourful. The sauce was thick and went over mashed potatoes well. Served with green beans and a leafy salad. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Simple, easy, delicious...what more could we ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I used thin sliced eye round and it was very tender and flavorful. Will make again with 3/4 " thick pieces. Great recipe for a less expensive cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My favorite recipe to assure that the sale steaks I come across will come out tender and delicious and the whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
It was good and tender for a cheap meat. But the sauce was thin next time will add cornstarch to thicken and maybe some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chariot

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was really tasty, and I've never had more tender eye of round steak! I increased the sauce and thickened it into a gravy with a flour/water slurry at the end. It was awesome over mashed potatoes! I had a little left-over and ended up making a "goulash" with that and some odds and ends I needed to use up. I added a packet of beef gravy mix and 1/2 block of cream cheese to the leftover gravy, chopped the leftover steaks, and served it all over egg noodles. That was way taster than it may sound; my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My man and I loved this! I don't cook steak or even eat steak because it's always so tough, but I bought the eye of round hoping that I could make it edible for my meat-and-potatoes man. I have never seen steak simmered before and wow, I'm going to do this a lot now. It was so easy and the sauce was fantastic. I took the advice of others and eliminated the seasoned salt and added garlic powder in its place; the wine and beef broth added just enough salt. Next time I will make the sauce thicker by adding in some corn starch, and I'll probably simmer it longer than 1 hour (I think 1.5 hours would make it perfect). Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This gives a great taste to the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canyon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is one of my husbands favorite dishes! Whether I make it served over Kluski noodles or as another suggested putting in red potatoes durning mid cooking.Great both ways. I also add some worchestershire sauce & garlic too. If you want it with a thicker gravy add some roue when its almost done cooking. Super dish! Thanks to all for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States