President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I used thin sliced eye round and it was very tender and flavorful. Will make again with 3/4 " thick pieces. Great recipe for a less expensive cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My favorite recipe to assure that the sale steaks I come across will come out tender and delicious and the whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
It was good and tender for a cheap meat. But the sauce was thin next time will add cornstarch to thicken and maybe some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chariot

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was really tasty, and I've never had more tender eye of round steak! I increased the sauce and thickened it into a gravy with a flour/water slurry at the end. It was awesome over mashed potatoes! I had a little left-over and ended up making a "goulash" with that and some odds and ends I needed to use up. I added a packet of beef gravy mix and 1/2 block of cream cheese to the leftover gravy, chopped the leftover steaks, and served it all over egg noodles. That was way taster than it may sound; my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My man and I loved this! I don't cook steak or even eat steak because it's always so tough, but I bought the eye of round hoping that I could make it edible for my meat-and-potatoes man. I have never seen steak simmered before and wow, I'm going to do this a lot now. It was so easy and the sauce was fantastic. I took the advice of others and eliminated the seasoned salt and added garlic powder in its place; the wine and beef broth added just enough salt. Next time I will make the sauce thicker by adding in some corn starch, and I'll probably simmer it longer than 1 hour (I think 1.5 hours would make it perfect). Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This gives a great taste to the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canyon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is one of my husbands favorite dishes! Whether I make it served over Kluski noodles or as another suggested putting in red potatoes durning mid cooking.Great both ways. I also add some worchestershire sauce & garlic too. If you want it with a thicker gravy add some roue when its almost done cooking. Super dish! Thanks to all for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made some seasoning adjustments after reading comments section. I added tarrogon and a little more fat for the sauce. I did cook for 1.5 hours and it was not long enough. I think using a dutch oven, slow cooker or clay baker would improve the outcome. Lots of potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelliB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this tonight in my new Dutch Oven. First off I deviated a tad from the recipe and I'm not sure the total cooking time so this might not be helpful to anyone. I sweated half of a yellow onion and 1 white onion with a clove of garlic. I only had a 2 pack of round eye steaks but I seasoned them with dried italian herbs and then rubbed some flour on them because I was running out of flour. The broth mixture was my favorite. I used 2 teaspoons bouillon in 1 cup of water, 1/2 cup red cooking wine, some balsamic vinegar, and 1/2 cup water. I think I cooked this about 1 hr and 20 minutes or so. I did sprinkle the meat with some tenderizer but my steaks were not fall apart tender. About 20 minutes before I added a can of mushrooms and then about 10 minutes before I added a handful of well rinsed capers. When I took the meat out, the broth smelled so good that I wanted it to thicken more. So I added 1 cup of cornstarch slurry and about a tablespoon of brown gravy mix. After dinner I made me some rice and poured a bunch of the broth over it. It was the best! Next time I think I will throw this in the slow cooker. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was excellent - a poor man's beef bourgignon... next time I might add some mushrooms. I don't know why other readers say that their meat was dried out - perhaps they used too wide a pot. In a 10-inch diameter Dutch oven or cast iron pot the liquid is more than enough to keep the meat submerged and, therefore, moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States