President Ford's Braised Eye Round Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Not bad, but the flavor was too beef stew-y for me. Is was kind of weird paired with the large pieces of steak. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Fabulous recipe! Round eye was so tender, my husband and I felt like we were eating a restaurant quality meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Very tasty recipe, but depending on the thickness of your steak, it may have to cook longer. I cooked it for 1.5 hr & everyone said it was very tender. I also added about 1C of beef broth to the wine, for more liquid, esp since it cooks so long. Added some garlic w/the onions also. I'd make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
this was quite tasty, but it does need to simmer a bit longer, and my family are not big meat-eaters, so it's unlikely I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadyelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Photo by jeffb
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this dish, I didn't have beef consomme so I used some frozen turkey stock I made after thanksgiving. I simmered for an hour, but I didn't get it "fork tender" as most of the other reviewers reported. I will definately do again, but perhaps use even lower heat and longer simmer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
If you are watching your salt intake be careful with the salt rub and use the broth instructed in the recipe. I would make this again and just lightly salt and spice the meat. I did add a little cornstarch to the gravy and it came out fine, however it was to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My 6 year old must have a lot in common with Pres. Ford because she aksed if I'd cook this every night. I added a bit of garlic powder and served the sauce over egg noodles. Thanks for the great recipe. Inexpensive & Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Really excellent. I did increase the amount of wine and broth by 1/4 cup each and added just a touch of Worcestershire sauce and garlic powder as another reviewer suggested. I simmered it for 2 1/2 hours versus the 1 hour recommended and it came out very tender and flavorful. I also thickened the broth after the meat was done with cornstarch, which made an awesome gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! It truly is "fork tender". It is an incredible combination of flavors. I will definitely serve this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My husband really enjoyed this, my kids ate it and wanted more sauce. I thought it was pretty good. I did make a change though. I don't like onions so I put in about 10 cloves of garlic and did it just like the recipe says to do the onions. Maybe if I let it cook another 20 minutes it would have been a little more tender. I started late and we were all hungry. Thank you though. I will try again and cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Temperature Eye of Round Roast

Roasting in a hot oven makes this roast very tender.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States