Premium Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
yes add a lot more flour! and don't try to roll out onto wax paper...it makes a horrible mess! Otherwise I LOVE this recipe! The taste is amazing and even with my wax paper issue it still all went smooth. This was my 1st time using yeast and 1st time making dough and I am a fan now! Will never buy another pizza dough ever again! I made it from start to 2 finished pizzas in about 4 hours! I used the sponge rise method. My husband will be pleased when he gets home! After the last rise I realized I forgot to add the salt! but it didn't matter, it still worked and it tastes great! Just plan on using about a cup or so extra flour and have about 4 hours to make pizzas and it will go great! I added a touch of oil to the crust and seasoned it with Italian and garlic powder...it smells wonderful! I just used a store bought sauce, chopped ham and mozzarella cheese. My 2nd pizza has BBQ sauce as base, chopped chicken, pineapple cubes, mozzarella cheese and crust seasoned with an apple wood spice blend, both smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I loved that this recipe still rises at higher altitudes. I did sub out the flour with wheat flour it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I love this recipe! I make it as often as possible. The flavor and texture are so perfect that I now only make simple Napolitan Margharita pizzas so as not to over complicaate the dish (Hunt's canned spaghetti sauce, fresh mozzarella and basil leaves with olive oil and garlic powder basted on the crust before baking). I agree with many of the other reviewers. I do end up having to add a little extra flour while kneading to firm up the dough and make it easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candiland3
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Perfect! First time pizza crust maker here. I used the overnight method, and made the dough while the kids were in bed, and took it out the next afternoon to make the pizza for a party - couldn't have been more happy with how it turned out. I just kept extra flour near as I was kneaded it the first time because it was sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I did the Sponge Rise Method and it turned out great! The only thing I had to do was add extra flour. Next time, I am going to make cheesy breadsticks..Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellenz
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I have made this recipe using both methods. The sponge method works great and if you want same day pizza, don't worry, it comes out FABULOUS! My family loves the tender crust. The dough is a little sticky, but try to use a bench scraper and dust your hands and counter well with flour. I do not knead it very long, maybe just two to three times, and try to just form it into a ball with floured hands. After the dough has risen and it has been divided in half, I put the toppings on the pizza once I have stretched the dough into the pan. Then I let the pizza rise for about an hour before I bake it. Just really try to avoid adding too much extra flour. I then crank the oven up and preheat it to 450 degrees F and bake the pizza for 7 minutes, turn it around and bake another 3-5 minutes. I check it often at the end so I do not burn it. My Hubby and daughter call it Crack Pizza! My daughter told me it is totally addicting, she tries to eat one piece, but the smell and flavor call to her and she can not stop herself from eating more. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, I will never use any other!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Best pizza dough recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have made this 2 times now. I didn't have any of the issues as other people have had with needing more flour. I use the dough setting on my breadmaker and it mixes it all up for me. Sticky for just a minute when I am ready to work with it, i just roll around in the palms of my hand and then stretch it out, i find i needed to up the recipe to 12 in order to get 2 good sized pizzas -- i froze the 2nd half and plan on making stromboli with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is a wonderful pizza crust! I've tried many others and been disappointed. This one is a keeper and worth the little extra effort of having to plan ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This recipe is a bi-weekly staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Jay’s Signature Pizza Crust

You’re going to love this 5-star recipe for homemade pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States