Prego® Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was delicious! I saw the other reviewer gave this recipe only 4 stars because after cooking for 40 minutes the "rice was still hard and undercooked". The recipe calls for cooked rice so not sure how it can come out undercooked. Anyway, give it a try, it's a wonderful, hearty recipe - especially for the fall/winter months ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
i made this tonight, most of the family enjoyed it. since i have young (picky!) children, i changed it a bit. i made the meatballs and baked them in a 350 oven for about 25 minutes and skipped the spaghetti sauce (which really isn't popular at our house). i also did not have any oregano (blush) so i used 1/2 tsp of dried basil and also used a bag of microwaveable rice instead of cooking my own. it was yummy and my husband is happy to take the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPARKLE33
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
We loved these meatballs! The turkey stayed moist and tender, and cooked just right simmering on low for 20 minutes. I sauteed the rice with butter and onion, before adding the water and a beef bouillon cube. This added a nice tang to the rice in the recipe. An excellent dish which will make much loved leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
excellent. Have made this many times and the entire family loves them. The only thing I suggest to change is cook the meatballs separately. Once they are mostly cooked thru, add the sauce and continue until the meatballs are thoroughly cooked. Keeps the tomato sauce from reducing too much and burning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I thought these were great. My family enjoyed them too. The only problem I had was that I couldn't tell if the meatballs had cooked all the way through because of the sauce. They were tasty and are worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Tasted great. Wasn't sure if I was supposed to cook the rice or what, but I did so next time I might use crumbs instead, the rice made the meat fall apart. I won't cook it w/ the sauce either, seemed like it took FOREVER to cook thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg417

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Too much rice, but the meatballs are delicious. I always experiment with different spices. I'll perfect it eventually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csozio33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: Sayville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I have to give this recipe a five star review.. they were perfect! I have to admit that I didn't pay attention to all instructions and didn't notice it said COOKED rice (as I assume other reviewers have done). I made a couple small changes but nothing major. I always cook my meatballs in the oven so that was one change.. 350 oven for an hour or so (depending if recipe is doubled or trippled etc). I made a triple batch so they were in the oven probably hour and a half. Also I wanted a little more of the original porcupine meatball flavor so for every jar of prego I added two cans of tomato soup. I also put in a handful of brown sugar in the sauce to give it a sweet/sour flavor. In three pounds of hamburger I put in four cups of rice and that was LOTS! (keep in mind i thought it was uncooked rice i was suppose to use.. my mistake). These meatballs are a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My kids love these meatballs! This is my go-to recipe for a quick and easy dish that is also very inexpensive. The flavor is excellent. I have also tried it with ground turkey sausage and omitted the seasoning. Came out great that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe's ingredient list exactly and there is little flavor to the meatballs - the only flavor was the sauce. The meatballs had little flavor. The one thing I did change was to put the meatballs in the oven (per another reviewers suggestion) I have had little success with cooking meatballs on a stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States