Prego® Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I gave this 4 stars because I made this as written and cooked for 40 min and the rice still was hard and undercooked. The flavor was excillent. Will make again but use little less rice. GREAT flavor though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebler78

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was delicious! I saw the other reviewer gave this recipe only 4 stars because after cooking for 40 minutes the "rice was still hard and undercooked". The recipe calls for cooked rice so not sure how it can come out undercooked. Anyway, give it a try, it's a wonderful, hearty recipe - especially for the fall/winter months ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
i made this tonight, most of the family enjoyed it. since i have young (picky!) children, i changed it a bit. i made the meatballs and baked them in a 350 oven for about 25 minutes and skipped the spaghetti sauce (which really isn't popular at our house). i also did not have any oregano (blush) so i used 1/2 tsp of dried basil and also used a bag of microwaveable rice instead of cooking my own. it was yummy and my husband is happy to take the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPARKLE33
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
We loved these meatballs! The turkey stayed moist and tender, and cooked just right simmering on low for 20 minutes. I sauteed the rice with butter and onion, before adding the water and a beef bouillon cube. This added a nice tang to the rice in the recipe. An excellent dish which will make much loved leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I thought these were great. My family enjoyed them too. The only problem I had was that I couldn't tell if the meatballs had cooked all the way through because of the sauce. They were tasty and are worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe's ingredient list exactly and there is little flavor to the meatballs - the only flavor was the sauce. The meatballs had little flavor. The one thing I did change was to put the meatballs in the oven (per another reviewers suggestion) I have had little success with cooking meatballs on a stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These could probably use a little more spice, but were still pretty good to eat, as per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Tasted great. Wasn't sure if I was supposed to cook the rice or what, but I did so next time I might use crumbs instead, the rice made the meat fall apart. I won't cook it w/ the sauce either, seemed like it took FOREVER to cook thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg417

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I made these, and they fell apart in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I had to use 1/2 cup of bread crumbs to help bind them together and put them in the frezer for 10 min. I know the recipe says to pack them tightly, but you can only do that so much. Mine fell apart too. I liked the taste of the meatballs and froze the other half which I am thinking of browning up like I would hamburger for spaghetti sauce and putting it on pasta, same concept, different application.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr.Gazer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States