Prego® Porcupine Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I cooked them in the oven first until they were almost done and then poured a jar of BBQ sauce over them and kept them on low in the crockpot. They didn't hold up and fell apart but the flavor was nice...people commented that it was strange to have rice in meatballs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I have NEVER rated a recipe this low. I honestly can't say what it would have tasted like had it worked out. I followed to a T the directions to make the meat "balls". The mixture was a mushy mess that would NOT hold the shape of a ball AT ALL. I tried to salvage it by making meat patties only to be extremely underwhelmed with the "flavor". I added some garlic salt and worcestire sauce to add more flavor and it was edible but more a rice patty than a meat patty. I couldn't bring myself to waste a perfectly good jar of sauce along with what use to be perfectly good ground turkey and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
only okay--may have been better had I followed to a "T", but I chose to bake the meatballs first, since that's what I usually do when I make meatballs. They were a bit dry, although the sauce did help with that. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My kids love these meatballs! This is my go-to recipe for a quick and easy dish that is also very inexpensive. The flavor is excellent. I have also tried it with ground turkey sausage and omitted the seasoning. Came out great that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I tried cooked and uncooked rice in this recipe. I ended up using uncooked. I added a little more liquid to the sauce to cook the rice through. Adding pre cooked rice to the meat just ended up being over cooked mushy rice in the end. Cooking the rice with the meat at the same time made the rice cooked perfect. And they seemed to have more flavor. We made meatball subs the next day with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I have to give this recipe a five star review.. they were perfect! I have to admit that I didn't pay attention to all instructions and didn't notice it said COOKED rice (as I assume other reviewers have done). I made a couple small changes but nothing major. I always cook my meatballs in the oven so that was one change.. 350 oven for an hour or so (depending if recipe is doubled or trippled etc). I made a triple batch so they were in the oven probably hour and a half. Also I wanted a little more of the original porcupine meatball flavor so for every jar of prego I added two cans of tomato soup. I also put in a handful of brown sugar in the sauce to give it a sweet/sour flavor. In three pounds of hamburger I put in four cups of rice and that was LOTS! (keep in mind i thought it was uncooked rice i was suppose to use.. my mistake). These meatballs are a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARLA66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Yum! I followed the recipe exactly and these were delish! Might try cooking the meatballs in the pan w/o sauce first to get them nice and brown, then add sauce for the last 10 min. or so. I found that my sauce got very thick and pretty much cooked out. But still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Very good recipe. I did a few things different. First, I only used one cup of cooked rice since two seemed like too much. I used about 1/3 cup of bread crumbs to help the meatballs stay together. I would also suggest using the leanest ground turkey you can find because I believe that helps them stay together during cooking. I made my own sauce using tomato paste and seasoning packets to which I added more water than the recipe called for to avoid burning the sauce while cooking the meatballs. I added about 1/4 cup grape jelly to the sauce just for fun. They turned out delicious. Hubby loved 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapphire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
My daughter was already claiming the leftovers when I first served these. They were well-received by all ages. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
excellent. Have made this many times and the entire family loves them. The only thing I suggest to change is cook the meatballs separately. Once they are mostly cooked thru, add the sauce and continue until the meatballs are thoroughly cooked. Keeps the tomato sauce from reducing too much and burning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States