Prawn Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I was apprehensive in the beginning - who makes a biryani using microvave !! But I must say this turned out really well (I just added some more than salt than I am used to). Will try this again this w/e and add some vegetables. Thanks a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asif Zaidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Was yummy. Just used the ingredients and cooked rice seperate from prawns... no microwave...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was deeeelicious! I give it four stars only because I don't approve of the microwave. I made it on the stovetop with a few modifications. On med-low heat, I used a single pot and started by sauteing an onion until browned. I doubled the spices and added curry. I omitted the cinnamon and cloves because I don't care for them. After browning the onions and spices, I added the rest of the ingredients except the shrimp and I used vegetable stock instead of chicken cubes. I also added cauliflower florets and frozen peas. I cooked until the rice was almost done, then added the shrimp and cooked until opaque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This gets five stars because it is so easy to make , it's a quick dish and very rich in taste, lovely. I made it a couple of times on the stove not microwave. I marinate the shrimps (I use frozen precooked shrimps) then, boil on medium heat for 15 minutes, once the shrimps are done I remove and place the shrimps aside, then fry the rice with the marinate add water and boil until the rice is almost cooked then place the rice covered in a preheated oven at 165 degrees celcius for 15 minutes or until rice is well cooked, once done I remove all the spices and place the shrimps on top along with a few parsley leaves before serving. I use exactly the same amount for all the ingredients as directed in the original recipe, hope that helps, Bon Apetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I would never make a microwave meal so i converted this to stovetop with rice separate and it was very good. Soon to be reposted with my stovetop directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is great, so quick. I used chicken instead of shrimp which I diced into small cubes. I did add a little turmeric for colour and flavour. I omitted the oil and salt. Will most definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I give this five stars because not only is it delicious but easy to make! Next time I might try doubling the spices but it was great the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We love it! But, I need to make it a few times more before it becomes my own dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States