Pralines, Coffee and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
I brought this to my sister's b-day party and EVERYONE loved it. I only got a small piece! The only change I'd make is to make less of the topping ... there was way too much, although we did use it up by putting extra dollops of topping on each piece :) I've been requested to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I made these for a baby shower I was attending. I'm chocolate fan myself, but I know not everyone shares my chocolate obsession. Needless to say, everyone who tried these squares, was in love with them. They are Fabulous!! I also like the fact that they have a more grown up taste (its not just kids who like sweets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is a fabulous cake to make when entertaining. Everyone thought it was delicious and wants the recipe. Definitly not for children. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Oooh yeah! This is a great cake! Now I'm getting numerous requests for this recipe! Thanks Mike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
This was delicious. I ran out of Kahlua so I substituted Creme de Cocoa and added instant coffee to it. Everyone asked for the recipe. You wouldn't know it was from a mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
All I can say is "WOW"! What a delicious cake...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
I can't remember a cake I've made that was such a hit! Everyone asks for the recipe when I make it. No one can guess what's in it. I wouldn't serve it to non-drinkers though. Be sure and cool the cake completely before frosting it. One time I made this, I followed the instructions on the cake box (called for egg whites instead of whole eggs, and 2 Tbl. oil instead of 1/2 cup). I wished I hadn't done that - the texture just wasn't right. I have found that 1 cup of milk is better than 1 1/2 cup - otherwise, the frosting is a bit too runny. Note that 1 1/2 cups pecans is a 6 oz. package. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This is a fabulous cake - outstanding! Very impressive and gourmet tasting! I made it for a gathering, and everyone profusely praised it and wanted the recipe. Absolutely the best, and easy too! Not inexpensive, though, since Kahlua and 1 1/2 cups pecans aren't cheap, but I must say this cake is worth every penny! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!My only suggestion would be to downsize the Cool-Whip from 12 oz. to 8 oz. size. There was so much frosting that I discarded some of it. I also think by downsizing the Cool-Whip that the flavor of the vanilla pudding would show through a little more and enhance the frosting. I highly recommend this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
Delicious! My husband has ranked it as his new favorite over eclair cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
This was the easiest recipe to make, and everyone who had it thought it was absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States