Pralines, Coffee and Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I've made this recipe 4 times now and everyone flips over it. One thing you may want to consider: rather than spreading the frosting on the cake I split it evenly with sewing thread forming a top and bottom layer and spread the frosting in between, pouring the pralines directly onto the cake (otherwise the pralines melt the frosting!). When I serve it I put a small dolop of frosting on the side as well. This makes a much cleaner presentation. Make this cake. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
My husband and mother loved this cake, mom even asked for the recipe. I thought it was just good. I used Kahlua and as others mentioned, had way too much whipped topping even though only used 8 oz. One strange thing is, my Mom is caffeine sensitive and the next day she said she barely slept a wink, had wondered if I somehow served her a drink with caffeine in it, that's when I realized the kahlua must have been the culprit! She still took the recipe though, said she would serve it at a luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIA_ARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This is WONDERFUL!! I used caramel liquer instead of coffee.....awesome! I used this for gift giving to our employees! I just used two 8x8 cake pans & split the pecan mix and then the topping in half. This worked out very well! Thanks for helping my gift giving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEARDQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Incredibly rich cake without the extra fat and calories of a cream cheese/pudding/whip topping! I used homemade Kahlua that's been around for a long time so don't know how it compares to store bought but the flavor was definitely strong! The praline topping is awesome, and a great, flavorful surprise under the frosting (which I made with only 8 oz. Cool Whip and still had way too much)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I expected to really like this, but somehow it didn't hit my head right. It was the last thing to go off the dessert table at our neighborhood block party, and I noticed that a lot of people who took a piece didn't finish it. Maybe my Kahlua wasn't any good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Great cake--everyone loved it. Using the 8 oz. cool whip is much better. Still had topping leftovers, but just freeze it! Stores well and great to pull out for a spoonful on pumpkin or chocolate cream pie or even brownies--ummmmm. The cake freezes well too. The cake goes far as it is rich and you can use smaller portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I made this for Bosses' Day and took it in. It was a huge hit by everyone who tasted it. Several people have already asked me for the recipe. I changed it a bit by using an 8 oz. container of Creamy Cool Whip and added a tablespoon or two of Kaluah to the icing which cut the sweetness a bit. It was perfect and I am now going to make it again for Thanksgiving for my family gathering. Whoever dreamed up this one gets a big A+ from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
What a keeper! Have been asked several times for this recipe. While there's certainly nothing wrong with the suggested topping, I can't wait to try a simple glaze and see what happens. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
I made this cake with chocolate cake mix and Irish cream. The cake was delicious. The pecan topping, however, tasted grainy. I substituted 1 1/2 cups white sugar melted and caramelized, added the pecans and a pinch of baking soda, then poured the hot mixture over the cake. The topping was to die for and so easy. I used it to frost another cake (a friend used it on her carrot cake and got rave reviews). Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Everyone LOVED this cake. I did use a chocolate cake mix and regular brewed coffee...it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States