Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I used to make other kinds of sweet potatoes, but have only made this one the past few years because we love it so much. All that vanilla gives it a definite richness not found in other recipes. The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
My family will not let me through the door without these sweet potatoes in hand. It's sweet, it's crunchy - the absolute perfect side to go with the ultimate savory meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Too sweet for my family and me. Didn't seem to fit as a vegetable side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is fantastic. I am required to make this every Thanksgiving! I did make a few changes. I used brown sugar instead of white and used only two eggs to give it more like mashed sweet potatoes and less like pie. I cut the vanilla back to one tablespoon, it is enough flavor without being overpowering. I also added 1/4 teaspoon salt, it really enhances the flavor. I've made this many times and I never used all the topping, I like it to resemble a side dish, not dessert. The kids love it and it has converted more than one "I hate sweet potatoes" resister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
awesome dish!! i double the topping and it is amazing...very sweet...just the way we like it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Love this!! Reminds my husband and I of a sweet potato casserole we get at Ruths Chris steak house in San Diego. Yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Jamul, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This is so simple to make I even used canned sweet potatoes and it still comes out perfect and everyone loves it, I never have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Everyone eats these and then asks for me to email them the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
We LOVE this recipe, but I have to cook it much longer stated to get it completely cooked. I've made it several times and we are always waiting for it to come out of the oven before we can eat - once we had it the next meal because it was so undercooked. I will continue to make this because the taste is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
The BEST sweet potatoes ever! I use Mexican Vanilla instead of traditional extract & everyone thinks there's marshmallows in it! This dish is requested at holiday dinners, even if I'm not going to be there. It has turned into more of a dump recipe for me, but all the ingredients are the same. It's great without the topping too, for those who don't care for nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaBird+3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA
Living In: Vassalboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States