Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Amazing dish, this is my second time doing this for my family for Thanksgiving and this truly is a nice treat for them. Thank you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious!!! I substituted canned yams (rinsed well), only 3 eggs, and I cooked it for 45 minutes rather than 30 (to make sure it wasn't too liquidy). Turned out great! Topping is the very best part - WOW - yummy!!!! The sweet potato part underneath was just a tad watery, but that could be because I used canned yams instead of fresh. The only thing I didn't like was the overwhelming vanilla extract flavor - it was way too strong for my taste. Next time I'll use 3 eggs again instead of 4, but will use fresh sweet potatoes and only 1 Tbsp of vanilla extract. Highly recommend this recipe to anyone who loves sweet (because this one is!) sweet potato casserole. DEE-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Thought I would get out of making these this year, but SOMEONE requested them. Not that I don't want to eat them all up or anything!! These are memorable, delicious, and set off the Thanksgiving feast so well. DO NOT use the picture as a guide, they are just beautiful and beyond delicious!! Nom nom nom as my daughter says. If they lasted long enough I would take a picture and post it - but who wants a picture of an empty, scraped clean dish??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Don't go by the photograph in this recipe. It absolutely doesn't do this dish justice! Once you try this recipe it will become a Thanksgiving tradition, it is that good! I wouldn't even consider making sweet potatoes any other way for our Thanksgiving dinner. I have even made this several days ahead and froze it, then took it out of the freezer the night before and left it on the counter until I took the turkey out of the oven. While the turkey was sitting waiting to be carved, I popped this dish in the oven as well as a few others for about 20 minutes and everything was ready to go all at the same time with very little effort on my part! Easily a five star dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G from Cleveland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This has become a staple for our Thanksgiving dinners. If I didn't make them I'm sure my family would riot. They are so easy to make and I've even made them the night before so that I can focus on other dishes the day of Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Fantastic rich sweet potato recipe for a special occasion. We always have it on our Thanksgiving table and everyone loves it. I have been asked for the recipe for this on many occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raynorra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I've been using this recipe every Thanksgiving & Christmas since I found it 9 years ago. I do NOT like sweet potatoes. Would never touch them but always had a can for my mother at holidays. I found this recipe and couldn't stop eating them!! All my guests rave about them and ask for the recipe. I love 'do-ahead' recipes and this is one of my favorites. Made a convert out of me! Aunt Tilly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This recipe has become a Thanksgiving staple for my family!!! I have prepared Praline Sweet Potatoes for 4 years (or so) now, and family members look forward to it. It is a little like having dessert before "dessert time," which is fun! The flavors are wonderful, and the dish is impressive (but do-able for this non-cook). I use real sweet potatoes (not yams), which I believe this adds a delicate, elegant quality. If you have a sweet tooth, you will love this dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisamg_sd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is so good. It's almost like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Now the family wants this every Thanksgiving. Been making it for years. I use two cans of yams which makes it very easy. Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States