Praline Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was amazing!! The only thing I changed was cut the white sugar from 1/2 a cup to 1/4 and only put in 1 TBSP of vanilla. Leave it all as is, it is delicious and was a hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a yummy recipe but it definitely needs tweeking starting with half as much sugar. And the vanilla measurement is definately off. Who ever heard of 2 T of vanilla in anything?! I think there's a typo in the recipe and it's supposed to be 2 t not 2 T. 1 or 2 less eggs would probably make it better. I didn't make it that way but I didn't like the egginess and I noticed that some of the other feedback talked about this. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg for more flavor. All in all, it's a crowd pleaser. Don't be afraid to adjust it to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizette Conover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is a great recipe. I usually don't follow recipes but ran across this one and gave it a shot. I tweeked it alittle bit and it came out fantastic. Instead of 4 eggs I used 3. Brown sugar instead of white...not packed. 2 Tbsp Honey. 2 Tbsp melted butter. A pinch or two of cayenne. And for the struesel topping I decided that alittle crumbled bacon would make a nice addition to all the sweetness and the added heat. I'm sure the original recipe is just as good....but try this out for alittle change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I made this recipe and it was heavenly!!! But being in french culinary school I knew I might be able to make this a little more flavorful! So I used fresh baked sweet potatoes, and since they can be stringy I put about 3/4 of this mixture into the blender, this made the texture incredible creamy! Also another amazing thing to do is cream together the sugar and egg yolks, until ribbons form that melt back into the mixture, this is how . Also To make this especially fluffy, add the egg whites to a electric mixer and mix just until stiff peaks form ( fold this into the sweet potato mixture very last and don't over mix it!) This dish NEEDS salt (to taste) to bring out the natural sweet flavor of the potatoes. Also for acid I added the juice from a quarter of a lemon, and a couple table spoons of Gran Mariner.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby W

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Tasty! For measurements, Sherry so impressed me with her measurement of how much a potato provided. I hadn't bought all the same size potatoes (bought a 2 pound bag of organics), I put a couple in a 1 quart measuring pitcher, filled it with water to 1 quart and ensured I covered the potatoes, then poured it off into a 1 cup measuring cup until I'd measured how much water came out. The remainder was my volume of potatoes. I had about 4 1/4 cups. I baked the potatoes for 1 1/2 hours (per Sherry again) and then scooped out the innards of the potatoes. I wound up with 2 cups of delightfully tasty mashed potato and no losses due to boiling in water. In summary, 2 pounds of sweet potatoes provided 2 cups of cooked, mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libertydoc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I also used all brown sugar instead of white - it adds more flavor. And for those who are gluten free, you can crush up corn flakes to use in place of flour & you actually get a crunchier topping. I added a little OJ concentrate to make it tangy - it just depends on the mood I'm in & what it will be a side dish of. Great recipe from MKENNON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScottFrerking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Fantastic,Made it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Pritchett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this yesterday for our early family gathering. Everyone LOVED it. I used boiled fresh Yams (not canned), I added 4Tblsp. homemade Vanilla, Cinnamon and one other spice I cannot remember at the moment and doubled this recipe. I will NEVER make my Sweet Potatoes any other way again! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This dish was a huge hit. I would suggest cutting the sugar in half. The potatoes were a but sweet after using the amounts listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My dad absolutely loves these! I completely agree with the tagline, they are definitely the best sweet potatoes I have ever eaten and I will make these again. Thank you so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Szabo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States